Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Warmth of Wood December 27, 2011

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 4:59 pm
Tags: , , , ,

 

I don’t think I’ve ever purchased or used wooden beads before making jewelry with the Krobo beads from Ghana.  But their colors and warmth of the wood just seem to go so beautifully with them. The first necklace is predominantly wood with small round amber beads for a hint of shine…I just couldn’t resist trying out the large teardrop shaped beads.  Another advantage is you can wear big chunky style necklaces and they are extremely light compared to other materials.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The second piece is another mixed bead necklace on a long knotted leather cord.   

 

One Response to “Warmth of Wood”

  1. Janis Says:

    I love these wooden beads! I don’t use much wood either- unless I’m also using macaroni with the kids. 🙂 The shape of these & the addition of the amber avoid the preschool feeling, though; lovely! Hubby carved me some beautifully grained maple beads and I think now I have an idea for them. Thanks for the inspiration & keep making beautiful things!


Leave a Reply

