Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Doodle Organizer February 24, 2012

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 10:41 am

I like to sketch ideas for designs when I’m waiting for a meeting to start, in a Dr. office, or riding in a car. These doodles happen mostly on odd bits of paper or in a small notebook I carry in my purse and end up as scraps laying around on my work table. Not very user-friendly. My new goal is to keep these ideas in one place. So I bought a small artist’s sketch book. The wrinkly cover is Mod-Podged scrapbooking paper, which I love to buy. I don’t scrap book, but LOVE the papers. The plan is to either transfer the best of what I already have down on these paper bits by redrawing or just plain taping them into this new book.  Also would like to record useful information about wire gauges, measurements, and bead names, etc…on particular finished pieces of jewelry.  There are times this would have been really, really handy…instead of starting from scratch.  I’ve actually used some my doodles as a template, laying down wire on top of the drawing and manipulating it with fingers and tools. Printing some photos of finished work with construction info added would also be a possibility.  The cover’s text is a reminder to me of some recent lessons in eucharisteo…wisdom gleaned from wonderful writer, Ann Voskamp and her book, One Thousand Gifts. There’s much more to her ideas than this…but basically, real joy is a product of learning the holy habit of living a thankful life for the gifts of God.  The work of a lifetime.

These are just a few of the piles of paper strewn about.

 

3 Responses to “Doodle Organizer”

  1. Jerri Maulik Says:

    This is so fun. I have a couple of little books I keep in my purse ALL the time and write down anything that might make a design for me. I have pictures ripped out of magaizines, I print out pictures of tiles or buildings that might be great made from wire. Last week I stopped in a Restroom that had a beautiful tile floor so out comes my phone camera and I took a picture. My daughter couldnt wait to ask me WHAT I was taking a picture of in the bathroom!!! You never know where you might see something or think of an idea.

    I love your cover!!! How fun!!!

  2. Hi, Jerri, I never thought of using my phone to take snapshots of design inspirations (I still tend to think my iPhone is just to receive and make phone calls). Great idea and thanks for sharing.

  3. I like your new notebook idea, Lynda! I’ve always been so in love with cool writing supplies – I bet you’ll record even more ideas and info now, because the pleasure of using your new notebook will open a new creative channel for you!

    BTW – your sketches are really good! Mine tend to be understandable only to me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

