Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Through the Looking Glass April 1, 2012

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 11:29 am
Tags: , , ,

First chapter, first page of the Lewis Carroll classic. Alice was having a nice chat with her kitty, Dinah…unaware of the great adventures that awaited her.  The beads and findings were chosen with two things in mind. First, I wanted to evoke a more vintage feel befitting the book’s age. And, secondly, the colors give it a more eerie feel to me. Am I the only kid who had a love/hate relationship with the book and movie??  The Disney film is my least favorite…in my memory, filled with creepy characters that made me uneasy and queazy…from the unpredictable Mad Hatter to that blood-thirsty tyrant, the Queen of Hearts.  And don’t get me started on the Jabberwocky. Stuff of nightmares.  Alice handled it all so much better than I would have. So here is where it all begins…

 

One Response to “Through the Looking Glass”

  1. Michelle B. Says:

    Yeah, not sure how I feel about Alice in Wonderland,….don’t remember much of it as a child. I probably blocked it all out! But, I do love your necklace. It’s dark and a bit mysterious but the red adds just a pop of “happy”. I love the textured chain and the drops with photos and words are really appealing – a story within themselves. A very wonderful tribute!


Leave a Reply

