Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Announcing the Alice in Wonderland Blog Hop! June 9, 2012

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 12:59 am
Tags: , , ,

It’s here!  It’s finally here!  Let the hopping begin!

A big thank you for this inspiration goes to Staci of Staci Louise Originals!

First, to share the piece I made …titled Go Ask Alice…from Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There.

First chapter, first page of the Lewis Carroll classic. Alice was having a nice chat with her kitty, Dinah…unaware of the great adventures that awaited her.  The beads and findings were chosen with two things in mind. First, I wanted to evoke a more vintage feel befitting the book’s age. And, secondly, the colors give it a more eerie feel to me. Am I the only kid who had a love/hate relationship with the book and movie??  The Disney film is my least favorite…in my memory, filled with creepy characters that made me uneasy and queazy…from the unpredictable Mad Hatter to that blood-thirsty tyrant, the Queen of Hearts.  And don’t get me started on the Jabberwocky. Stuff of nightmares.  Alice handled it all so much better than I would have. So here is where it all begins…

Step one:  make components with annealed steel wire ,text from a one dollar used book, and Diamond Glaze.

Step two: Construct necklace.

     

             Step three:  On second thought…

 The first attempt did not have quite the eerie, even creepy, vintage feel I was going for…

so I decided to add some black sari silk ribbon and a handmade clasp.

Someone also commented that the ribbon reminded her of the hair ribbon Alice wore.

 Curiouser and curiouser…

And now to enjoy more of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, please go to Staci’s blog site for the links to more entries.

 

 

17 Responses to “Announcing the Alice in Wonderland Blog Hop!”

  1. Love, love, love, this piece. Love the charms that you made very interested in your technique. I agree the black sari silk add to the design. I like that version much better.

  2. Pam Ferrari Says:

    I love your design! Yes the black ribbon gave it the edge it needed.

  3. Alice Says:

    What a great necklace! I do like it with the silk added. And how fun that the dangles are made from an old used book! Sweet!

  4. Says:

    love this necklace, I like resin and paper pendants!
    I had so much fun partecipating in this hop, ciao dall’Italia

  5. I love that you used quotes! I love your necklace! Even better with the ribbon!!!

  6. Linda Hanes Says:

    Love the leaves! The black and red is wonderful. Love your wire wrapping too

  7. Heidi Says:

    What a gorgeous piece. I think you definitely made the right choice revising it with the black sari. It was pretty before, but that just makes it perfect. Well done!

  8. Oh I love the pieces you created with the book pages! I loved the necklace as it was in your first design, but adding that black silk does give it that darker feel to it that I think you were trying to achieve! Beautiful piece!

    Thanks for joining our challenge!

    xo Genea

  9. Susan Says:

    I like both versions of your necklace but the second one definitely gives it a darker feel. The teardrop charms are great, too. Nice work!

  10. CraftyHope Says:

    Oh yes, the second necklace with the fiber works so well! I love your text petals from the book. This piece is really my style! Very cool!!

  11. What a lovely and unique necklace – I love it!

  12. WONDERFUL !! from wonderland… I do love this with or without the ribbon 🙂
    actually i was thinking of making something with text and vintage feel but did not manage …lol

  13. Zan Says:

    What a fun and inspired necklace! I just signed up to follow your blog.

  14. Ginger B Says:

    I really like this piece. I may use this inspiration to finish off my red queen costume for Halloween this year.

    • Yup, I was the Queen of Hearts in first grade. I remember my mom spending a huge amount of time making the costume out of a white bed sheet and using crayon to color big red hearts all over it. Topped it off with a cardboard crown covered with tin foil, of course. I’m sure yours will be in a whole different design category.

  15. I like the remade version with the ribbon as well. I agree with you, Alice in Wonderland scared me the first time I saw it as a child, too! I did NOT like that queen one bit! The Tim Burton version seemed so much less threatening to me for some reason. I like that you chose to portray the dark side! Bravo! Diane V.


Leave a Reply

