Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Embracing Orange August 19, 2012

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 8:19 pm
Tags: , , ,

A bit of a change up from my usual.

Color wise, when entering a bead store, I usually gravitate toward all things aqua, teal, turquoise, etc…

So I have been really trying to add some oranges to my bead stash. Jade, ceramic, metal, wood.

So today, I played around a bit with some orange jade beads, which I think contrasts nicely with the warmth of the wood.

Tied together with waxed linen cord, added some chunky brass chain,

and finished off with a beautiful brass floral button closure.


Orange seems to be everywhere these days. 

Have you incorporated this hot color into your jewelry?  If so, how?

And what are you favorite color pairings with orange?

Please share!  I’d love to hear from you.

And just to show how much I’m embracing orange…even tho’ it’s temporary…

 

10 Responses to “Embracing Orange”

  1. hagpeople-online@yahoo.co.uk Says:

    I like using copper or gold with yellows and oranges rather than silver. Green is a striking offset (in small doses). In the garden, I like reds and oranges together… Your posts are always interesting, give me inspiration and make me think. Thanks!

    Beth Hagman

    ________________________________

  2. Well thanks to Pantone and Tangerine Tango, we are in danger of being not just embraced, but smothered by orange LOL. Not that I would mind… a touch of bright orange is O.K. On the other hand, I think your necklace is very understated and sophisticated. Those shades are much more my cuppa tea, Lynda; like orange for grown-ups. I most appreciate orange when it is paired with neutrals, or with colours adjacent on the colour wheel (yellows or reds).

    • You’re absolutely right about the deluge of orange in the marketplace. Thanks so much for your insights into judicious use of this sometimes troublesome color. I’m still learning and feeling my way.

  3. I’m so glad you made this post … I too find it hard to work with orange and usually go towards the purples/teals in the LBS. I’ve been finding that it mixes in well with my deep purples tho and even with the turquoise teals that it can make those pieces POP. Thanks for the inspiration! SLS

    • Ooh. Hadn’t thought about deep purple, but I can imagine it in my head right now. Orange and turquoise, being complimentary, would be awesome together. Back to the bead stash, I go! Thanks for the comment!

  4. Tamara Says:

    I like pairing oranges with turquoises and teals as well. I also do orange and red, or orange and pink in the spring/summer. And the nice thing there is, if customers want a bit of orange but don’t feel like they have anything to wear it with, often they’ll have a red or pink top.

    • Thanks, Tamara, for the color ideas. I think you’re right to keep orange in balance with other colors and perhaps not a main attraction in the jewelry. And I’m one of those ladies who has no orange in their closet at this time!


Leave a Reply

