Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

New Work August 29, 2012

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 5:27 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Today was a very good day. Home alone and very productive jewelry -wise. I made a bunch of sterling ear wires so they are ready to use, hammered and textured sterling and copper pendant components for earrings. Finished six pair of earrings, and two necklaces. Oh, and worked on a gorgeous sage green freshwater pearl and crystal lariat style necklace for a friend, who is a mother-of-the-groom.  No wonder my hands and neck are sore.

The copper piece in this first necklace started out as a focal for a bracelet. I posted about it awhile ago when I wrote about experimenting with alcohol inks.

But I just wasn’t happy with anything I tried, design wise. So I ended up folding it in half and using it as a bail of sorts for this polymer clay heart.

Kept it simple with the braided leather cord and polymer bead clasp.

                                             

The second necklace is another effort to work on simple asymmetry in designing.

I pulled out dozens of bead boxes and containers and just started playing around with groupings of them.

(Sidebar comment: Really, really must not buy anymore beads until I use up more of what I already have!)

Must say it was quite fun and this is what I finally settled on.

Carved bone, rock crystal, fresh water pearls, and amethyst peanut seed beads

 

5 Responses to “New Work”

  1. Oh, not sure I could pick a favorite between these two or not. I love the leather and the way you’ve made that bail and the colors,…but the other one has pearls and you know I’m a sucker for pearls!! Love them both.

  2. Beautiful and unique as always! i’m working on ear wires, rings and bracelets in ssilver and copper, I’ll send you a pic.

  3. Colleen Says:

    Your work is beautiful,love it all. 🙂


Leave a Reply

