Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Simply Grateful November 14, 2012

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 11:09 am

We’ve been back home almost a week from Ghana and I think my body is almost back in the Pacific Standard Time zone.

This will be a short missive today, but I do hope to share a bit more at a later date. Still processing…

I just want to say how grateful I am for the opportunity to go.

It was glorious, challenging, rewarding, hard, and as with all the mission opportunities I have participated in…vision sharpening.

God has used these trips to bring into sharper, more clarifying focus the work of his Kingdom and his faithfulness.

I was personally, if figuratively, carried home by the supportive prayers of many and the grace of God,

having been diagnosed with malaria the day before we were to leave for home.

Fortunately, we were staying within the St. Luke’s Hospital compound, so I received the prompt diagnosis and treatment needed.

I am most grateful for the kind attentions of Dr. Anim and Dr. Boateng, and the nurses who tended me during the long night.

The 36 hour trip home was by no means easy, but I am grateful for my teammates who made it possible.

Gratitude and “thanksgiving is the only full and real response of a man to God’s creation, redemption, and gift of heaven.”

                                                                                        –Alexander Schmermann

 

Leave a Reply

