Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Holiday Cheer December 6, 2012

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 12:03 pm

On Tuesday, Art Bead Scene, hosted their 3rd Holiday Ornament Blog Hop and I had so much fun hopping around to see the wonderful pieces that everyone created for this special challenge.  I was particularly taken with the ones made by Heather Powers of Humblebeads.  And, oh joy!  She kindly include the directions for making them.

So yesterday, I was at Michaels, bright and early, armed with my 40 percent off coupon, of course, to purchase the needed materials. What a fun afternoon I had making these elegant and wintry ornaments with very simple materials.  White polymer clay,cookie cutters, stamps, StazOn ink, some sparkly fine glitter, and a few ‘jewels’. I did make more elaborate ornament hangers with annealed steel wire and crystals for these, but simple ribbon is just lovely, too.  Do check out Heather’s blog post for more complete directions and see her gorgeous ornaments. If you’re not familiar with her polymer clay bead work, then why not spend some time at her blog and admire her artistry.

One last note, make all the ornaments first, then stamp them.  Impatient me wanted to see what the inked design looked like on the first one and I ended up getting ink on my fingers that smudged onto the next piece of clay. Trash can.

I love having some handmade ornaments ready to gift family and friends at Christmas!

Do you have any special little something that you like to give to spread some holiday cheer this year?

1

2

3

5          6

 

5 Responses to “Holiday Cheer”

  1. Christie M Says:

    I was part of the Ornament Blog hop this year, and love seeing all the pretties. LOVE what you’ve done with yours. I’m itching to play with polymer clay, and after seeing yours, I’ll be making a trip next week! If you get a chance, I’d love for you to stop on by and visit my blog! http://www.charisdesignsjewelry.blogspot.com Christie

    • Thanks, Christie. I agree that this year’s Ornament Hop was a feast for the eyes and your little blue butterfly ornaments were ‘dreamy’.I’ll be checking out your blog to see how your jewelry adventures are progressing for sure.

  2. Your ornaments are lovely, Lynda… this is a fantastic tutorial, isn’t it? Starting with the white PC means you could customize with any ink colour to match the recipient’s preferred décor.

    Hope your health is good, so you can get full enjoyment of this Blessed Season!

  3. Oops, meant to say: my own special tradition is to prepare trays of Christmas cookies for close friends who may not have the time or inclination to make their own. My wonderful sister gets a “perpetual tray”. As soon as her family empties it, they can return it for a refill… as many times as they wish .

    • Thanks for stopping by, Monique. I’m pretty pleased with how these ornaments turned out, especially since my poly clay skills are limited to cookie cutters and stamps right now. I love your idea of the perpetual cookie tray! What a lucky sister you have!


Leave a Reply

