Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Small Gifts December 31, 2012

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 1:18 pm

Many friends and family who know that I make jewelry have gifted me with little treasures

of old costume jewelry

from Aunt Edna,

broken necklaces, a lonely earring missing its mate, and other  little goodies.

They are usually handed to me with a “maybe you can do something with these”.

 I have always welcomed these small gifts with both glee and gratitude.

This morning I rediscovered this broken, gifted seed bead and bell bracelet given to me by a Ghanaian friend.

bell chain

Granted it could be fixed, but I liked the idea of using bits and pieces of it in some earrings.

Also found these beautiful crescents at a new bead shop in town. Snagged a few for myself.

They seemed a perfect fit with the bell chain.

wood crescents

Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way!

Bells

Here’s to the small gifts that bring great joy in our life.

Wishing you all great joy in 2013 and keep your eyes wide open for small gifts!

Lynda

 

3 Responses to “Small Gifts”

  1. Wanda Says:

    Cute and defferent! Happy new year!

  2. Oh, these earrings are super cool Lynda! Great design with fabulous colors and what a wonderful way to re-purpose the bracelet! I’m just now catching up on all my holiday blog reading – I left my computer home this week when we went to the mountains so I could ‘un-plug’ and enjoy my family, so I hope you and your family have a wonderful 2013 with many blessing and much happiness! Happy New Year!!

  3. Karin Says:

    Beautiful post! Lovely earrings. What a great way to start the year – with a new bead store in town!


Leave a Reply

