Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Cabin Fever January 27, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 3:06 pm
Tags: , , ,

My husband and I love to go up to our cabin in the San Jacinto mountains about two hours from home.

This, however, was a week of rain and drizzle. Read a lot (which I love to do by the fire),

did some crossword puzzles from the LA Times, took the dog for a few walks in-between drizzles,

caught some “Damages” episodes…and then, cabin fever set in.

And me with not much in the way of jewelry making stuff with me.

So down to the local Ace Hardware store I went.

The really cool thing is that this small town store as a great selection of copper

and annealed steel wire, in a variety of gauges.

Not sure what got into me, but I started making these figure 8 links.  A small bowlful, actually.

When I returned home, I decided to ‘link the links’ together

with these small abalone chunks and a larger pendant.

The really hard and tedious part for me was all the scrubbing work with OOOO steel wool

and the polishing that needed to be done after oxidizing the piece.

Love the look… just hate what it does to my darn thumbs.

copper 8 links

abalone pendant

 

8 Responses to “Cabin Fever”

  1. Monique U. Says:

    Two of my faves, Lynda, abalone and BIG links… who says a chain needs to be an afterthought? The metal has equal importance in your design. Let’s hear it for small-town hardware stores!

  2. Michelle W. Says:

    I love the figure 8 links that you made! The necklace is very pretty!

  3. Cindi Says:

    Sorry about your fingers but I really like the darkened look with the abalone. Really makes it pop.

  4. CraftyHope Says:

    Isn’t Ace the best for wire? I’ve yet to find a better hardware store selection than the simple, local Ace.
    Oh, your necklace is beautiful!


Leave a Reply

