Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

“What is that smell?!!”, he said… February 2, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 5:42 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s a very good thing that today was warm enough to keep

the windows and doors open most of the afternoon.

Especially when I started using the Renaissance Wax to prepare some annealed steel wire.

And if that smell wasn’t enough to vacate the premises,

I needed to oxidize some sterling ear wires with the Liver of Sulphur, too. Yuck!

Despite this noxious mix in the air, I did manage to get some jewelry  finished.

   He made the decision to stay out in the garage for the afternoon,

which is probably where I should have been in the first place.

large pearls

Ann's bday present

flower charms

SteelAmazonite

abalone ovals

cobalt twig wrap

As much as I love making jewelry,

there are a few minor things that I don’t look forward to…

    like using stinky Live of Sulphur and the scrubbing with steel wool.

Are there  any tasks that are necessary to what you love to make,

but that you don’t particularly enjoy?

 

11 Responses to ““What is that smell?!!”, he said…”

  1. Wanda Says:

    How can I purchase the last pair? Love them.

  2. Caron Lambert Says:

    I sure enjoy getting out all the beads and things a lot more than I enjoy putting them away. Perhaps it is more a need to curtail my buying than anything else, but there are so many shiny things out there just waiting for me. 🙂

    • Isn’t that the truth, Caron! So many lovely temptations out there. And you are absolutely right about the fun of pulling everything out in our creative moments, but ugh! What a mess we make to clean up afterward.

  3. Pam B. Says:

    I totally agree with you regarding the smell of liver of sulphur! I have just started experimenting with it on some brass charms. I also want to add a patina to wire. How do you prepare your wire before dipping it? Do you use steel wool? Thanks.

    • Hello, Pam! I’ve done some research on using LOS and have learned a couple of good tips. Before applying the patina, you want to be sure the metal is very clean. One suggestion is to give it a light scrub with a solution of water and ammonia to remove any grease. Yeah, I know…more noxious fumes! Rinse well. Then, before putting the piece into the LOS solution, I heat the metal by putting it into a cup of very hot water. This seems to speed up the oxidation process quite a bit. Have fun with your brass experiments. I haven’t tried brass yet, so I’m interested in your results. Let me know how it goes.

  4. Love the charms with the faces..Great work. You always keep me inspired

  5. Cindy Says:

    What a beautiful grouping of new earrings! I especially love the red drops with the resin paddles. I hear you about the LOS…but what I like less than that is polishing my jewelry with fine steel wool after it is oxidized! Takes so long…but the end result is worth it! 🙂

  6. I agree with you, Cindy, about the steel wool. And like you, it’s the final gorgeous result that keeps me with it. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. artsychicksw Says:

    Wonderful creations! I especially like the earrings with the resin and flowers w/ faces. The deep red faceted bead and rhinestone rondelle are wonderful compliments to the drops.


Leave a Reply

