Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Class… Week Seven February 27, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 3:18 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Just a quick look at how I spent my time at last night’s jewelry class.

And my, how the three hours sped by.

One of my goals is to take full advantage of the heavy-duty expensive tools available there

and making some components I can work with when the class is finished.

One is a “Big Mama” metal shears, the teacher calls the Beverly Shears.

I found some pretty Brighton jewelry tin boxes at a thrift store last week,

thinking I’ll try out making some tin bead caps and pendants

…quickly realizing that getting rid of the thick box rims was going to be a big problem.

Beverly to the rescue! “Like buttah”  Wish I’d taken a picture of her.

Trimmed the rims right off, so that I could use a nifty steel metal blank punch.

Also made some copper blanks while I was at it.

Drilled a center hole on a few and tried doming them in the dapping block.

Not perfect, but kinda cute!

Also, included a peek at the progress on my bezeled ring project.

Took me two tries to solder the trim to the back plate.

Next week, I’m hoping to make and add the split ring shank and wear it home.

tins

tin blankstin bead caps

bezel ring 2

 

12 Responses to “Class… Week Seven”

  1. Zan Says:

    I am really enjoying your blogs! Almost feel like I am there (I wish). So much fun to read and I am getting inspired to work up the courage to try it too(well I have the courage just not the courage or ability to find the space in my house where I can continue the metal work).

    • I agree that finding space for your work is a big challenge. My first work space was so similar to many others…on the kitchen counter. Hence the name Fresh Baked Designs. I’d have to clean everything up and put it away to make dinner. A huge pain! And as your skills and interests grow, so do your tools, supplies, and gadgets, right? And metal work has some of the biggest, and coolest equipment, too. Sigh…

  2. Monique U. Says:

    It looks like you are having a ball, Lynda. Those tin bead caps are awesome!

  3. Oh, these are so great! (tin bead caps) I love hearing about your class adventures each week. I think you’re ring’s gonna be super gorgeous, too. Wow!!

  4. Cindy Says:

    WOWEEE! Just look at all of the beautiful things you are making! I absolutely love the bead caps made from the punched tin. Now that is a beautiful pattern…nothing like you’ll find in any bead store! I took a soldering class over the weekend myself, and let me tell you, my pendant looks nothing like yours! I made twisted wire for a decorative element to go around the bezel. I just loved the beaded band you used…does it come like that, or is that sterling ball chain? You have done a fantastic job!! I would like to buy some soldering supplies (pickle, bezel strip,etc), and try this some more. But I should look in to some base metal components to practice rather than fine silver!

    • HI, Cindy! I’m impressed that you made your own decorative trim! The beaded trim I used was from a roll of sterling beaded wire (not chain). The only fine silver we used was the bezel strip. After soldering the beaded trim into oval form, I had to sand the bottom of the shape to flatten it, so that the trim piece would have a solid connection to the silver back plate. It would then solder firmly to the back plate of the piece.
      Does that make sense?

  5. Susan F. Says:

    It looks like you’re really having a blast and learning a lot! 🙂

    • Hello, Susan…yes, I am. I can see why many students reenroll in this class just to have access to the tools and equipment. Funny you should use the work “blast”, because I’m still having trouble firing up the torch and last night it looked like a flame-thrower by the time I got it lit. The teacher scooted right over to give me a little more ‘tutoring’.

  6. Berthe Says:

    Hi,
    I live in France and I just discovered your blog and all those beautiful jewelry you make. Thank you for our eyes and most of all, thank you for all the hints and tips you share heartfully with us. I would like to know what you do to the border of the tin boxes after you cut them and not injure yourself because they are very sharp.

    • Welcome to the blog, Berthe, and thank you for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it so much. As to your question about the tin boxes. After cutting off the rims, I carefully dispose of them in the trash. Haven’t found a good use for them yet. And you are absolutely right, the edges are very sharp. I probably should wear leather gloves when I’m cutting into the tin. Think I’ve been lucky so far, but better not push it!


Leave a Reply

