Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Nesting Time March 18, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 12:33 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Officially, Spring is almost here.

But where I live, we’ve already been enjoying spring-like weather.

The grands even went swimming in the pool on Saturday.

Still too chilly for me, but they had fun.

On my workbench today…

Two cute copper bird nests with turquoise ‘eggs’.

teal bird nest 1

 

teal bird nest 2

 

turquoise nest

 

turquoise nest 2

 

 

And finished up a copper bangle that I started in class last week.

Rolled out a 5 inch piece of 1/4 inch copper pipe til it was very thin.

Then textured it with a piece of nylon netting in the rolling mill.

Torch it a bit for patina.

Added a copper clasp and some pretty dangly bits for charm.

I’ve been wearing it around today and I must say it’s very comfortable

and pretty darn cute!

 

copper hook cuff

 

 

13 Responses to “Nesting Time”

  1. I love the bracelet and the birdie. You have inspired me to take a metalsmith class which begins in mid April. I looking forward to the adventure.

  2. Diane Says:

    I especially like the little bird “carrying” her nest. And oh, how jealous am I that you have access to a rolling mill! Thanks for sharing!

  3. You are having fun and making lots of beautiful pieces, Lynda. This is something I would enjoy learning about but, alas, no courses here in the Middle of Nowhere!

    • I guess there are definitely advantages to living in a big, freeway congested, crowded public spaces city! LOL I did read that the Adult School programs may be on the chopping block however. It would be a crying shame!

  4. mebigina Says:

    I like your copper bangle. It’s simple and nice. Metalsmithing is one of technic that i want to learn. Awesome 🙂

  5. Susan F. Says:

    I love the new work!

  6. Karin Says:

    Loving that bangle and those bangle dangles. Fantastic colors, great shine and texture- pretty darn cute, indeed!!!

  7. Shirley from Toledo Says:

    Love the pendant!

  8. amaliarosa24 Says:

    Really like your nesting design. Soooo pretty, I wonder how you could think such a unique pretty idea like that!


Leave a Reply

