Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Join Me at Boot Camp! March 19, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 3:52 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Love My Art Jewelry just opened up their latest boot camp just for us!

This time it’s all about hand texturing metals.

And they even provide weekly tutorials or videos to give you encouragement,

skills, and ideas.

The blog tour for this challenge is on April 8th,

so there’s still plenty of time to go raid your tool box, garage and junk drawers

for fun things to use to texture metals and create some jewelry.

Click here for more details. I really hope some of you will come join the fun.

Even if you decide not to take part in the blog tour,

I bet you’ll definitely learn some new techniques and skills with this one.

So I did go scavenging in the garage and found some good possibilities.

 And in the first week’s video, Barbara suggested trying bits of steel wire

bent into interesting shapes to use.

copper stamped pendant

You can see that I smashed the heck out of the steel wire on this copper disc.

 I thought the results of my experiments with these tools was okay

and decided to continue with a domed pendant idea.

I also soldered on three small sterling silver balls that I made out of my scrap bits.

 Oxidized and scrubbed the piece, then into the tumbler for 3 hours.

Here’s the finished necklace. I must admit that I never, ever thought

I’d be making this type of jewelry.

But this semester’s experiences in sheet metal and soldering

have given both the skills and confidence to give it a go at home.

sea urchin

Also tried just using the chisel to dent the edges of these sterling hoops I made.

 And another excuse to solder on more of those sterling balls.

I was just awe-struck watching the sterling wire bits glow

and turn liquid and just ball up.     Magic!

chiseled hoops

hugs and kisses

Hugs and Kisses earrings from letter stamps

copper leaf drop

Copper Rain earrings…textured with the claw end of a hammer.

So, what do you think?  Want to come and play?

The earrings are listed in my Etsy Shop.

 

 

20 Responses to “Join Me at Boot Camp!”

  1. Texturing is so fun and your pieces are beautiful, I like both the pendant and the earrings. I recently did the same, decided to texture round wire on a pendant, and it came out much more interesting like that (I’ll share it in a future blog post). I’ll keep my eyes on this boot camp for sure, may not have the time to work on things, but it does look very inspiring, so thanks for sharing, and do continue texturing!

  2. thefrugalcrafter Says:

    beautiful work!

  3. LisaS Says:

    Your work is simply beautiful! I like the texture that resulted from the claw hammer, very neat coloration too 😉

  4. kat Says:

    Wish my garage had such great things.

  5. Alice Says:

    Your textured pieces are wonderful! I especially like the sterling silver dots and the texture you got from the claw end of the hammer. Thanks for sharing!!

  6. Mary Harding Says:

    Wonderful textures. I love the idea of the rain texture from the claws of a hammer!! BTW your earrings are stunning.

  7. Wow, such lovely designs. The textures you’ve found are great. (I’m a fan of making silver ball too).

  8. Emily Says:

    Wow! Your metal work is so professional. I love how you used the bent up metal on the first pendant and created a really unique and organic looking design. The silver drops make it really POP! All of your work is very finished looking. Nicely done!

  9. I love those! You’re a natural!!!

  10. stacief Says:

    What a great job!! Love all that rich texture!! Wonderful!!

  11. Gorgeous work! Thank you for joining us on our boot camp! Your domed piece with the soldered bits is fantastic!

  12. kelli pope Says:

    Awesome!! Love the way the copper disc turned out.

  13. marshanealstudio Says:

    Just love all of these! I really like that you textured and then added the silver balls! Your work is like magic – Great Job!!!

  14. BJ Says:

    What do you use to cut the Brighton Jewelry tins to make the earrings?
    They are lovely.

    • Hello, BJ…two steps in using the tins for jewelry. To cut the rims off, I used heavy duty kitchen shears. To cut out the discs, I had access to a nifty little tool set from Pepe. Cut the tin easily.Sanding the edges a bit is also a must. A hole punch plier was used for the ear wire holes. Hope you are encouraged to give these a try!


Leave a Reply

