Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Last Class June 5, 2013

Last night was the last jewelry class until the fall.

I’m really going to miss this weekly time of learning and working in the lab.

However, the exciting news is that the next session will be devoted to jewelry casting!  Whoot!

There are some in the class who have done this before and shared some really great pieces they made.

I have particularly enjoyed making component pieces from sheet metal…

texturing, doming, and learning(attempting) the skill of bezel setting stones.

Here’s a little gallery of some of the jewelry I completed during this session.

 

hope and joy

Hand cut, lace textured aluminum components

cherry lace 2

 

 

 

Nov 13

 

Die cut, textured copper with a wash of emerald alcohol ink

 

embossed ovals

 

Copper washers stretched in the rolling mill, then textured

 

turq. bezel earrings

 

Bezel set turquoise with textured sterling swirls

 

 

bead mix

 

Hand textured copper disc with glass, bone, and ceramic beads

 

copper close up

 

double wrap necklace

 

Spent some time at the end of class making a small stash of copper discs

and ball head pins to tie me over until the next session in September.

 Hope it’s enough!

 

4 Responses to “Last Class”

  1. I just love seeing all your designs from your jewelry classes! At times, it makes me wish I had somewhere close by to take metalsmith or fabrication classes. But, I know I don’t have the time right now to put the knowledge to use, so it would be wasted on me I’m afraid!! LOL!! The casting class this fall sounds like it will be very cool. I’m looking forward to hearing (and seeing!) about those classes. I particularly like the green copper earrings – those are just so beautiful (along w/everything else!).

  2. Susan F. Says:

    You made some beautiful jewelry during your class. I totally understand how much you’ll miss your weekly classes because I miss mine–two terms and an intercession were not enough but time will no longer allow more. I look forward to seeing your designs as you expand your knowledge even more this Summer (on your own) and during Autumn with your class!

  3. Cebette Murphy Says:

    Thank you so much for continuing to share your work. You always inspire me! It’s also great to know that there are others, who like me, can’t really stick to one technique or “look”. There are so many things to try! Cebette

  4. Cindy Says:

    Lynda, what an incredible round-up of jewelry! You really stretched yourself in your class and made such incredible metal pieces. I am so impressed!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

