Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Pearls! Pearls!! Pearls!!! Blog Hop September 14, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 9:15 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Pearls.

Considered by many as the Queen of Gems.

When Michelle Buettner of MiShel Designs issued an invitation to a Pearls Challenge blog hop,

I jumped at the chance.

It was a great opportunity to really dig into my stash of pearls…

Cream, White, Pink, Peacock, Green, Bronze, Gold, Cranberry.

Coin, Baroque, Stick, Rice.

Love them all!

Gem and Bead Mall (San Diego and Las Vegas) is my pearl source of choice locally.

My first design showcases the largest creamy fresh water pearls I own…

I don’t usually use copper with pearls, so I was really excited to see how this developed.

I started with a strip of textured copper made from a piece of 1/4″ copper tubing

that I ran through a rolling mill.

Annealed, then textured on a brass design plate.

Twirling the strip into an elongated bead cap to form the pendant.

Adding wire wrapped pearls to a copper chain with a handcrafted clasp.

Copper pearls 2

peek

pearls and copper

The second design uses the tiniest pale pink pearls in my collection.

ย For these sweet pearls, I decided to splurge a little on some 14 k gold filled chain and wire.

Handmade ear wires from 20 gauge wire.

A big, yet light and delicate presence at 3 1/4 inches in length.

pink pearls

And I had so much fun getting reacquainted with my bountiful pearl stash,

that I decided to do a third design…

This one started with a gorgeous lamp work bead by Ikuyo Yamanaka.

Truthfully, I have been hoarding 5 of these beads like a miser for a while now.

I used a mix of moss green and burgundy pearls

with a few crystals sprinkled in for some sparkle.

lampwork bead bracelet 2

Lampwork bead bracelet

The Gem Institute of America (GIA) has a short, but very interesting article

on the History and Lore of pearls.

Satellite

A huge thank you to Michelle, for not only hosting this challenge,

but also educating us and providing great resources for this most luscious of gems.

ย You can access the list of other participants by visiting Michelle’s blog.

Thanks for stopping by today!

 

36 Responses to “Pearls! Pearls!! Pearls!!! Blog Hop”

  1. Oh Lynda – that necklace is just to DIE for! I’m always excited to hear about your metalsmith skills and the techniques you use and I love to visit your blog so I can drool over your designs and this one is no exception – wow! It’s one of my favorites ever! And those earrings – just gorgeous! So dainty and sweet – perfect! The focal bead by Ikuyo Yamanaka is incredible – holy cow!! And so is your bracelet with all those gorgeous pearls and crystals – and that sweet heart – love this design! Thanks so much for joining in the hop – I hope you had fun!

  2. What beautiful, beautiful pearls, metalwork, lampwork, and designs! All so perfectly executed!

  3. April Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the bracelet! Beautiful colors ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Tracy Says:

    Hi Lynda. I love the way you wrapped the pearl in your necklace. It makes a stunning focal! You went all out in all three of your designs and each of them is so different. I would wear them all!

  5. Therese Says:

    Hi Lynda,
    Love your pieces they are beautiful! My favorite is the copper and pearl necklace.
    Therese

  6. Liz E Says:

    The copper twirling elongated bead cap I love. I mean really love. It’s gorgeous! And the clasp on the necklace. Wow!!!

  7. Gina Hockett Says:

    I personally love copper and pearls together—what a unique way to showcase your large pearl, love how you made the copper beadcap!! All of your designs rock! Gina H

  8. I love the copper bead cap, so elegant and beautiful, great work!

  9. Lisa S Says:

    Beautiful work with copper! I love that S hook clasp -so graceful.

  10. Pam Traub Says:

    Love your Pearls and all your designs…especially the Copper Necklace!

  11. that necklace is to die for! I am absolutely loving how you rolled that focal! gorgeous!

  12. Kashmira Says:

    Now that’s a super gorgeous pendant! I am in awe of anyone who can do metalwork with so much finesse!
    My focal is actually the same idea as your rolled up copper, but its ceramic ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Christine Says:

    Your clasp on that necklace is just as gorgeous as your pendant! Love the whole piece! And the bracelet has great color and style. Those earrings~big but delicate and great swing! Perfect!!!

  14. Ev Says:

    Really love the unique bead cap that you created! It goes sooo well with the pearls…wouldn’t mind learning how to do that myself! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. These designs are really amazing. I love to see how your wire working and copper fabrication skills have become something so wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing. It is always fun to read your blogs. Debbie Freeland

  16. Lynda, you have really outdone yourself! Wow!!! I’m amazed that you made not just one, but 3 beautiful designs. Your necklace is just incredible… so much care and time must have gone in to creating the metal bead cap, starting with the piece of tubing…and all of the wirework! And oh those earrings are so delicate and pretty! So worth the splurge using gold. And the bracelet is a favorite too…just love the variety of pearls and crystal – such sparkle! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Veralynne Says:

    Beautiful Lynda! Like you, once I had the pearls out…the ideas just kept coming. I am keeping them out as I do other pieces so I can be sure to use them. Great job. Thanks for Sharing!

  18. Lisa Yang Says:

    I’m a little late to the hop – but so happy to see your beautiful pieces. The necklace is so unique and I’m glad you shared the techniques you used. I also love the bracelet. The pearl colors make the gorgeous lampwork focal come alive. Your work is lovely.

    Lisa
    http://www.lisayangjewelry.com

  19. Ginger B. Says:

    I love all these pieces especially the clasp on the necklace. You are so amazing multi-talented. I’m so glad a blog hop introduced me to your blog.


Leave a Reply

