Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Shards September 20, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 12:15 am
Tags: , , , ,

A short while ago, I wrote about the Art Bead Scene’s September Challenge.

And my initial explorations with a faux ceramic tile look with polymer clay.

 The artful meanderings have continued the last few days.

At first I thought I wanted to make some small tiles in the art nouveau style.

But I kept thinking about old pottery shards for beads and could I do this with poly clay?

 YES!

 In fact, when I was at my local bead store looking for brass go-withs,

two people asked if they were pottery shards !

Quick Steps:

Roll out white Sculpty III clay.  Stamp design all over.

Cut out small ovals and rounds.  Slice off random edges.

Poke holes with large needle.

 Bake.

Mix glazes of Sculpty liquid poly clay and alcohol inks.

 Paint and daub the top only.

Bake again.

 Seal top only with satin varnish.

pottery shards

The lush, romantic style of the art work, Autumn by Alphonse Mucha,

inspired this beaded necklace.

Here’s a look at this gorgeous painting again.

the-autumn-1896.jpg!HD

shards 1

shards 2

And some lovely earrings with the two left over beads.

shard earrings

Using this technique to make some holiday ornaments, as well.

Here’s two completed.

two ornaments

I’ll definitely be making many more of these pretty pottery shards.

Already thinking about some faux Delft blues.

************************************************************

Bonus for all you blogger friends out there!

I just completed posting for three challenges in one week!

 To celebrate, I’m having a little giveaway:

I’ll draw one name at random from all the commenters

on this post next Friday, September 27th.

Be sure to leave a contact email if your email isn’t linked to your name.

The winner will receive one of my poly clay ornaments

and my last faux ceramic pottery shard bead from this batch.

 It’s about 3/4 inches long.

How’s that?!

( Yup, I switched out the original ornament to this one…it just came out of the oven and I love, love the finish on this one !)

Rose Heart

 

I love reading all your comments!  Thanks for stopping by today.

 

32 Responses to “Shards”

  1. I love these pottery chards, Lynda! They’re so colourful and pretty!

  2. Lauren Huber Says:

    I love these! It’s a technique I’ve been wanting to try out, but I couldn’t find any Liquid Sculpey. :/ Where did you get yours?

  3. Nice work with the beads!

  4. Angela Mullis Says:

    I love your designs and your new beads are amazing! Pretty please count me in for your giveaway! Thanks!

    Angi Mullis dj2isme@aol.com

  5. Diane Says:

    Wow! I can’t believe how much those really do look like pottery shards! I admire people who can get such incredible looks, textures and colors with polymer clay. dewdropdesigns90@gmail.com

  6. Alice Says:

    What a great idea! I love your clay pottery shards. And the pieces you made with them are fabulous! Would love to win!

  7. So fun to always see your blog in my email. Love everything that you do and learn so much from you, must be the teacher in you huh? These shards are amazing, could not tell them from pottery and probably no sharp edges!Debbie Freeland

    • Hi, Debra! Thanks so much for being so supportive of my jewelry adventures. And yeah, I guess the teacher in me never really retired!
      You’re correct, the edges are soft enough that they won’t scratch or snag anything.

  8. Ginger B. Says:

    Wow, three blog hops in a week. You’re a rock star! Thanks for the tutorial. I’m going to have to try that when I finish my pieces for my next blog hop.

  9. These are gorgeous, You have so many techniques that you have mastered, this necklace/earrings set is so lovely, The delft blue would be gorgeous!

  10. Alicia@AllPrettyThings Says:

    I absolutely love your idea of making faux pottery shards! and I absolutely love them 🙂

  11. Your poly pottery shards are outstanding. Thanx for a chance to win one.

  12. Juanita Says:

    I really enjoy reading your blogs. It gives me inspiration to continue my craft. Although I work a full 8 to 10 hour day, I find time to put things together on the train ride back and forth to work and at lunch time. Thanks for keeping up my momentum.

  13. TNine Design Says:

    Linda I so enjoy reading your blog and just love your work! I would be tickled to win an ornament.

  14. Mary Jo Morris Says:

    Beautiful work Lynda. I’ve never tried using the liquid sculpey and alcohol inks for coloring and a glaze. Please count me in on your drawing as it would be awesome to have one of your pieces!

  15. Glenda Says:

    Wonderful and very inspirational! Thank you.


Leave a Reply

