Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

First Post 2014…Make, not Pin January 2, 2014

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 3:57 pm

Happiest of New Years, Blogger Friends!

May yours be filled with peace, joy, and perhaps, more jewelry!!

This may be a very odd post on a jewelry blog and it starts with a confession.

I love Pinterest! I love adding pins to my boards and lurking around other people’s boards. I do try to limit my time like a good girl should, but I have also come to realize that I pin tons of ‘inspiration’ and ‘DIY’ projects and never get around to making anything.

So…I decided to start off the new year with a little promise to myself.

That I would try out at least one new recipe a month and one crafty-type project a month (not too, too challenging, right?).

Today was the day to try out a craft with these adorable cake/cookie/candy stands. I went to the dollar store and Goodwill to pick up pretty plates, candlestick, ice-cream bowl, and coffee mug.  I had some two-part epoxy on hand already.

I think scrubbing off the stickers was the hardest part of this project.  Wash and dry everything thoroughly. Turn each plate over and trace around the chosen base with a pencil to mark the placement.  Mix up a batch of epoxy and smear on the rim of the base using toothpicks.  Place each base on the plate bottom and press down, so that there is a good seal.

Let dry as directed.  Easy as pie!

Cake Stands 1

Cake Stands 2

Cake Stands 3

Love, love, love the ability to mix and match the plates and bases.  My favorite so far is the one with the coffee mug stand. Not sure if these will be gifts or keepers, but I think I’ll tuck a few in the cupboard to give as gifts.

Wouldn’t one of these be a special present with a batch of homemade scones?

 I think I just might have a ‘pin’ for those!

*******************************************************************************************

I am thrilled to follow up with this good news about these cake stands.  The two part epoxy worked like a charm…a very strong bond!  Remember to hand wash only.

I would still not pick it up by the plate, but by the stand.  And that’s the beauty of using a coffee mug.  You have a built in handle to carry your cake stand!

 

12 Responses to “First Post 2014…Make, not Pin”

  1. I bought some of those plates at a craft fair last year and I love them! Mine were XMAS themed and the woman used epoxy and cheap glass beads to further decorate the underside and along the bottom of the candlestick….they are so festive! Kudos to you for trying a new craft! I, too, am a P interest lurker.. :). happy New. Year!

  2. How Beautifully Creative!!

  3. What a great idea for the year Lynda, and these plates turned out beautiful. I finally used a recipe I had pinned and I’m w/you as far as using the diy ideas on Pinterest, so I may have to try this out and see if I can manage doing at least one thing a month from something I’ve pinned!! 🙂 Happy New Year to you and yours as well, and may 2014 be happy, healthy and wonderful!

    • Happy New Year, Michelle! May we all enjoy health and happiness in 2014.
      I’m happy to report that the two part epoxy was definitely the way to go if you’re going to try this. And my friend loved the one with the coffee mug…so she’s now the happy owner.

  4. Monique U Says:

    Very good observation, Lynda, about the amount of time (so precious!) we spend on these sites. While Pinterest can certainly be inspirational, I sometimes find it a little overwhelming! I tend to restrict myself to groups where I am actually a participant. So far that is working for me 🙂

  5. CraftyHope Says:

    I like your idea to actually make some of those projects we have pinned. Hmmmm….I like it a lot.
    As well, your idea of keeping a few of those cake plates around to give as gifts with some baked good is a FABULOUS idea. Best of luck with these goals, but I really think you’ve got this!

  6. Hello and Happy New Year to you! I wanted to comment sooner but got caught up with some house work… Oh well, batter late than never! I just wanted to say that your post inspired me to do the same, I’ve got like a bizillion DIY, recipes and jewelry tutorials but never seen to get around to making anything. I’m not sure I’m brave enough to tackle a recipe and craft monthly but I’ll give it a try for sure!
    Best of luck to you and please let us know what you make!


Leave a Reply

