Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

If it looks like Spring… January 15, 2014

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 11:55 am
Tags: , , ,

Being very aware that much of our country has been suffering under a heavy, severe winter weather season…I write this post with some trepidation.  If you are still in the midst of horrible, frigid weather, please don’t hate me.

Southern California has been enjoying a very warm and dry winter, even by our standards. It’s not even noon and it’s 90 degrees outside. We do have our issues with this weather, namely the almost constant threat of wildfires.

That said, as I look out my dining room windows and see our fruitless pear trees in forced bloom, it’s definitely looking like Spring has arrived.  I find my thoughts turning to creating some pretty bird themed necklaces in decidedly springtime color palettes.

Brassy Bird

Porcelain Bird

I haven’t quite forgotten that I’m still in the month of January.

Work on some Valentine’s Day jewelry has also begun. I have 4 more of these handmade sterling silver hearts in varying sizes to bejewel.

Garnet heart

(sterling silver and garnets)

If you saw my last post, you know that I’m also combing thrift stores and dollar stores for cake plate possibilities.  Here’s a peek at some recent creations.

Acrylic wine goblet and plate…great for patio or pool area.

Seashore plate

Thought this one would be fun for appetizers at a Fiesta themed party.

Fiesta Plate

Wouldn’t this one be cute for small sandwiches or scones at a tea party?

Tea cup Plate

I now have 12 cake plates stashed under my work table !

 The good news is I also have a store interested in selling them.

I’m thrilled, because I’m addicted to these.

 

4 Responses to “If it looks like Spring…”

  1. Yes, if it is spring, we must have birds, Lynda! We are experiencing a mini-thaw in eastern Canada, but it won’t last 🙂

  2. Been watching the wildfires on the news every evening….stay safe! Those plates are awesome!!!!!


Leave a Reply

