Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Variations on a Theme January 22, 2014

As I mentioned in the last post, if it’s January, then I’d better get working on some romantic Valentine’s Day jewelry. For me, that means lots of sweet, delicate necklaces. These four feature the same tri-link sterling component.  Variations embellished with a variety of pearls and gemstones…

pearl pendant

sterling chalcedony pendant

Turq. pendant

Love, love this last one with my favorite gem stone…Labradorites!

Labradorite pendant

Also, worked up some good-sized sterling wire hearts to hang on 20 to 22 inch chains…but I ran out of the chain and had to wait for another order from Rio Grande.

 Yeah! It arrived in the mail today, so I’m good to go on these.

3 hearts

And last, StudioJuls, glass artist Juli Cannon, had a sale on her awesome lamp work beads that I just couldn’t resist. They also arrived in my mailbox recently and are even more gorgeous in person.

This photo comes close to the vibrant colors.

Studiojuls beads

Did you notice that I ordered a strand of Pantone’s Color of the Year??

 I’m excited to see what these will be paired with…I’m thinking some copper!

Do you have special plans for making Valentine’s Day jewelry?

I’d love to hear about your favorites!

 

9 Responses to “Variations on a Theme”

  1. Kathy Zee Says:

    What do you charge for your necklaces?

    • Hi, Kathy! If you’re asking out of general interest…The price depends on the venue. If I sell privately, the range is 38-55 dollars. In a shop (where these currently reside), it’s 45-65. If there’s a particular necklace that strikes your fancy, let me know and I’ll see if it’s still available for you.

  2. Diane Says:

    I’m with you on the delicate little necklaces for Valentines Day. I’ve never been a fan of the holidays and when I was selling wire and beaded jewelry (I’ve been a unsatisfied beader for a while and have wanted to get into metalworking and finally took the leap so am not selling anything while I am learning from the internet and books and practicing) that’s mainly what I would do. You see, I’ve never been a fan of hearts. I don’t wear them myself. But one year I bit the bullet and made a few pairs of heart earrings and one necklace along with my delicate little pieces. Guess what? All the hearts sold the first day!!! I was so disappointed because I then felt like I HAD to make them each year. But now that I am metalworking, when the time comes to sell again, I hope I can find a happy medium by making pieces that both represent the holiday and that I can feel proud of.

    • I hear you! Sometimes I feel like I have a split personality…making what I love and making what people will buy. I’m okay with this, as long as I can have the majority of the former. Best wishes on your quest to find balance in your creative life, Diane!

  3. Peggy Says:

    Ooh I love all the necklaces. I think the labrodite (sp) is my favorite. Would look great with a white crisp shirt.

    I really like the chain you have pictured. would you mind sharing the item #?

    I can def see the purple lampwork beads with copper 😉

  4. Ooooh, so pretty (and I agree, that sale was very hard to resist… I blame being extra broke and being on a low-spend challenge LOL)


Leave a Reply

