Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

We’re All Ears Challenge March 21, 2014

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 12:15 am
Tags: , , ,

Last month, Earrings Everyday started a monthly earring challenge.

The March inspiration is totally adorable…

a pen and watercolor by Beatrix Potter, from her book,

The Tailor of Gloucester.

As a child, I fell in love with all her books,

but my favorite was Mrs. Tiggy Winkles.  Still love hedge hogs.

images

Today is the big reveal for all those participating this month,

so be sure to go to Earrings Everyday and check them out.

I decided to take a few elements and colors from this piece to create

some simple earrings.

 The nut-brown color of the mouse’s fur and tree stump

and the pretty blue threads that are used in floral stitchery.

Our inspiration!

beatrixpotter-miceatwork-threading the needle

So with small wood beads, dark blue waxed linen cord, some seed beads,

and ear wires made from brass head pins…

Here are the earrings…

Nut brown earrings 2

Interestingly, I hardly ever feature seed beads in my earrings,

and here it’s happened two months in a row with these challenges.

A new trend?  Hmm…

 

34 Responses to “We’re All Ears Challenge”

  1. Kelly Morgan Says:

    The first word that came to mind when I saw these earrings is “FUN!” They look like they would be so much fun to wear. Wonderful job and very creative.

  2. Monique U Says:

    What’s not to love? These feature all my faves, Lynda, wood beads, fibre… even the novel use of seed beads, as I love how they look but I’m not a “beader”. Very original 🙂

  3. Cindy Says:

    This illustration screamed “fiber” to me, too. I struggled to use fiber creatively, but you totally nailed it perfectly in these earrings. I love the linen and bead dangles below those perfect wood beads that mimic the tree trunk texture. Love these!!

  4. Terri G. Says:

    These are too cool! Love your interpretation and the creative way you think.

  5. Oh these are just lovely! Love how you incorporated the waxed linen into the mix!

  6. I have a new passion for tiny beads too!! Love your creative interpretation and the’ swinginess’ of these, they will be fun to wear….xx

  7. Nice interpretation of the image! They pick up the wood really nicely!

  8. jny_jeanpretty Says:

    ooooooo I love these! really pretty, and I love Mrs. Tiggywinkle as well! 🙂 jean

  9. Karin G Says:

    These are so pretty! I love the wood with the clusters of bright little beads.

  10. These are super, Lynda! I too thought of the wood in the tree and the color of the mice – great minds think alike! 🙂 Love your long dangles and those seed beads at the end. I bet they feel great on!

  11. Oksana Says:

    Love, love them! I also wanted to use some embroidery floss for my earrings, but just could not come up with a design, Beautiful idea and execution!

  12. Radhika Says:

    super cool love them 🙂

  13. Alice Says:

    Such Sweet and colorful earrings I love the seed beads and the floss. Your design is wonderful!

  14. I love your use of fiber and the tiny little beads just seem to capture the delicate aspect of the inspiration perfectly. I love them.

  15. Linda Landig Says:

    These are so cool! I love the way the wood and seed bead dangles sit down lower on the cording, rather than being knotted up close to the earwires. These earring would be so swing-y and fun to wear!

  16. Kala Says:

    These are a really fun interpretation of the illustration and have such a unique design. Love them.

  17. Hmm, think I know where you might have picked up some of the idea of combining linen and Toho beads… although you might not remember, and anyway you’re welcome! (That’s the way the web works, I copy you a lot, actually… and who knows where I got my idea, by the way — it might have been circulating for some time!) And I didn’t put mine at the end of the string like you, that was a new take, and a good one! Amazing color of linen, can imagine it looking great under the Californian sun! Here, it would clash with the pale spring light and grey-brown surroundings at the moment, but for summer they would be great!

    • The combo of colored waxed linen cord and tiny beads is a great addition to fun jewelry designs, isn’t it! Adds such a whimsical look to pieces and I agree that it’s perfect for spring and summer, Monica. Thanks for stopping by the blog!


Leave a Reply

