Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Time for an Etching Update May 7, 2014

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 9:41 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Looking back at my posts of the last couple of months,

I see that there’s not much jewelry shown.

Time to correct this, I think!

Since returning from Africa, I have renewed my mania for etching copper…If I’m honest, obsession is probably the more accurate term. If anyone is thinking about starting to learn this method using ferric chloride, I’d highly recommend seeking tutorials, both text/photo and video on-line.

Beaducation has a free detailed video series here. This supplier also has a huge variety of inexpensive pre-cut shapes in base metals that would work very well with this etching method. I have only working with copper sheet metal…cutting my own copper discs with a die cut tool and shapes by hand with heavy kitchen sheers (actually very easy).

I do have one difference in method than shown in their series. They recommend covering the edges of the pieces in a heavy coat of permanent black marker ink, so that the etchant does not eat this part of the metal. I do not do this and there is a good reason. They are working with smooth, pre-finished blanks. I’m using hand cut pieces that are still a bit rough around the edges. Happily, I discovered that by leaving the edges exposed to the acid, these were naturally smoothed and finished by the treatment.  Much less work filing and sanding for me!  And you’ll notice in these earring components the very cool rounded ridge and striation marks all along the edge…love this!

 

           Still learning to “read” the process…this pair needed to stay in the acid a little longer.

 

 

copper disc wturquoise drops

 

etched butterflies

 

small etched floral

 

 

    These last three photos were taken a sunset on my porch.

Love the touch of gold added to the gorgeous patina!

 

Dandelion copper pendants

 

Amethyst copper pendants

 

Sea change bracelet with copper button

 

Just listed a few of these pieces in my Etsy shop !

And I promise to share more jewelry very soon!

Lynda

 

8 Responses to “Time for an Etching Update”

  1. Monique U Says:

    Beautiful pieces… love the butterflies 🙂 And the bracelet is especially gorgeous, Lynda!

  2. These are so awesome Linda. I love the look around the edges, like you spent hours with a texturing hammer!!! Love the pictures too.

  3. Oh Lynda, I absolutely adore these earrings you have posted – all of them – but especially the butterflies (and I am NOT a butterfly kinda girl!). I’ve always wanted to try etching, but it’s the disposal of the ‘hazardous waste’ materials that stop me. We don’t live close to a waste facility to drop them off and I know you’re not supposed to just ‘throw’ the remaining liquid out even after you’ve neutralized it – so I shall live vicariously through you for now if that’s okay?!! 🙂 Oh, and your bracelet is stunning, too!! Love seeing photos of your gorgeous jewelry anytime!

    • Glad you like these! Regarding disposing of this nasty waste…It was very confusing when I started looking into it. Way too many opinions on the web. And I spent an hour calling so many local numbers trying to get the real scoop on this stuff. Radio Shack wasn’t any help and I got the run around on the phone with waste management. So, I decided to play it safe. There’s a place that takes hazardous waste twice a month by appointment. That works for me. I just save it in an old glass pickle jar til I’m ready to go.

  4. Mary Says:

    Lynda, these are absolutely beautiful! I love the edges, too. Great job!


Leave a Reply

