Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

I’m Early ! June 11, 2014

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 12:34 pm

Gee, it’s only June 11th and I’m ready to post my Personal Pinterest challenge…

One recipe and one craft for the hundreds (maybe thousands) I’ve pinned to boards.

Perhaps it’s because this month is c-r-a-z-y with activities.

All fun celebrations…but really need to keep on top of things around here.

Family birthday, good friend’s retirement party, three grandkids’ graduations and

two craft fairs to prep for at the end of the month.  Yikes!

Jenna promoting from Fifth to Middle School, Taylor graduating on to High School,

and Zach graduated on Monday from Grossmont Middle College High School,

a wonderful hybrid option that allows juniors and seniors to take college courses

with their core high school subjects and receive concurrent credit.

His mom, my daughter, April, was his English teacher there for two years.

                         And boy, did I get weepy seeing them both up on the stage together.

GN and Zach 500

Fell in love the first time laid eyes on him almost eighteen years ago…

this very tall, good-looking young man!

 

Okay, on to the recipe of the month.  I’ve noticed that I’m posting almost all desserts here and this is going to keep that trend going…with Dulce de Leche Brownies.

My recipe is easy, so I’m not even going to post a link.  It’s hardly a “recipe” really.

Just adding some delicious caramel goo to the top of some brownies. But oh, what it does !

Grab your favorite brownie recipe or even your favorite brownie box mix. I like any of the Ghirardelli’s.

And a can of dulce de leche…I find mine in the “International” aisle that has Mexican and Asian food stuffs.

 Then, just mix up your brownie batter, spread in a prepared pan,

open up the dulce de leche can and drop dollops of this goo on top of the batter.

I used half a can for one 9×9 inch pan.  This is so good, I made a 9 x 13 pan with two boxes of mix and one can of D de L.

Then run a knife through the dollops to spread it over the top.

You’ll want to leave little pockets of this yummy caramel to bite into.

Bake as directed.   This platter of goodness will be enjoyed by good friends coming to a BBQ tonight !

Dulce de Leche Brownies 2

 

Next up…Easy Fabric Frames

     I’ve shared many times about the colorful Krobo beads I bring home from each trip to Ghana,

     but I haven’t shown you the equally gorgeous batik fabric I buy at the weekly market.

batik fabric

 

I finally decided to used them to spice up our dining room area.

All I needed were  four purchased canvas frames from Michaels ( 50% off !).

And a  staple gun. And one husband (a pair of extra hands).

After doing this once, I’m confident of being able to do it by myself.

The frames were 12 x 24 inches.  Considering the wrap around, I cut pieces a generous 18 x 30.

You can always cut away the excess.

I did use painters tape to hold the fabric in place as a trial run.

4 panels

 

dining room

 

                                                                        Love the mix of colors and patterns!

                                And this space now acts as a welcome reminder of our friends and good memories of Africa.

 

One Response to “I’m Early !”

  1. Congrats to your Grandson, Zach! That is a great picture of the 3 of you….you all look so proud. So many celebrations/endings/new beginnings in June!
    Your brownies look great. I’ve been enjoying trying Pinterest recipes too. Speaking of brownies, I’ve tried black bean brownies and chickpea brownies – the chickpea were better and my kids liked both!


Leave a Reply

