Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Quick Button Necklaces June 16, 2014

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 4:04 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Cindy Wimmer recently posted a quick and easy button pendant tutorial. HERE.

Got me thinking about my small stash of buttons. I love buttons.

Even have a Buttons, Buttons Pinterest board. HERE, if you’re interested.

Wire-wrapped-Mother-of-Pearl-button-pendants_opt-515x622

                                                                                                Cindy’s adorable samples

I rediscovered two very pretty clear ones in my button box that look like cut glass.

One was paired with a faceted crystal drop for a simple lariat style necklace.

 

button lariat

 

Since these pretties seemed to have a vintage flair, I dug out a sterling plated spoon handle thingie I had played around with awhile ago. I had sawed off the spoon end and tried to smash it flat for a pendant. A total wreck. Threw that away.

I had better luck with the handle end. Flattened the end and used some mighty force to bend the end into a bail. It went into a drawer for a year until I found it yesterday.

Thought it just might pair nicely with the button.

 

Button charm Spoon

 

 

And I probably should not be sharing this next item with you…

because if you all play along, it might decrease my chances of winning some of these goodies

from the Art Jewelry Elements team.

My better nature prevailed!

They are hosting seven days of give aways starting today…Whoot!

Seven days of artisan made components to create with.

Today there are two chances to win…

Kristi's component

from Kristi Bowman-Gruel

 

Porcelain shell charms 1

from Suburban Girl

 

Go HERE to see for yourself!

 

 

4 Responses to “Quick Button Necklaces”

  1. Lynda, thanks so much for sharing my button pendant tutorial. It is super simple but sometimes simple is just right…especially an excuse to use buttons from a collection. I love your lariat designs – what a great idea!! 🙂

  2. My pleasure, Cindy! Your sweet button tutorial was definitely worth passing around. Love the fun and whimsy they can add to jewelry designs.

  3. Cindi Bernloehr Says:

    Lynda, thanks for sharing this site. I was inspired by the shells to try something with my beach finds. Maybe patina and glaze some shells for earrings.
    Thanks again,
    Cindi


Leave a Reply

