Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Why didn’t I know this sooner? October 7, 2014

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 7:48 pm

I don’t share much about the business side of what I do because mostly I’m doing well enough for someone who started it after retirement and I prefer to focus on the adventure of making jewelry, not the business of selling it, record keeping, tax forms, licenses, etc…  However, thought I’d share about my recent discovery of something that I hope will make my life much easier. And my customers, as well. If you already know about this, then go enjoy a second cup of tea or move on to the next blog on your list, or go make some really cool jewelry. You are just a techno-smarty-pants.

It’s about the ability to use a great Paypal tool that allows one to create a customized invoice and email it directly to a customer. In the past, if someone was messaged me about buying a piece they saw on Facebook or my blog, I thought I needed to create a reserved listing in my Etsy shop, so that the buyer could pay through Paypal. They do not even need to have a Paypal account to complete the transaction with a bank transfer or credit card.

It took a very kind and knowledgable reader to clue me in…thanks, Karin!  Let’s cut out the middleman.

I just completed my first transaction today. It was easy, fast, and convenient for both buyer and seller. I created an invoice template with a photo logo, my contact info, return policy, and a thank you note.

Etsy has not been a thrilling experience…I admit I don’t put much effort into it. So, it’s on permanent, temporary vacation or temporary, permanent vacation. Either way, I think I’ve just discovered, however belatedly, a nifty business tool that gives me the freedom to easily sell from this blog or from Facebook or perhaps Pinterest. Not sure what this might open up for my business, but I’m excited to have more options.

This is a screen shot of the page that creates the template.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 7.44.27 PM


If you have experience to share regarding this Invoice tool on Paypal,

I’d love to hear from you!

 

4 Responses to “Why didn’t I know this sooner?”

  1. donnahij Says:

    That’s a nice looking invoice! I’ve used paypal invoices a lot, but didn’t know you could customize them that much. Thanks for the tip. This might be a new development since I used it last. I’m going to try it!

  2. Michelle Says:

    I should try to customize my invoices – these look great. I usually just send a money request from paypal via email to the person who asks and then they pay me via paypal and I send a recpt. etc. in w/their package after I send them a thank you email for their payment and give them their postal tracking number, but this looks more professional I believe. Way to go Lynda!! Etsy’s just a ‘Window Shop’ for me I believe. People check things out but don’t purchase. I get where you’re coming from w/the whole ‘on vacation’ thing you mentioned w/Etsy! 🙂

  3. I agree with you Lynda. I also just found out and started using email invoices. I use Square instead of paypal but the same concept. I have a much more active audience on Facebook than I can generate on my website. (just window shopping) I used to have a shopping cart there but it didn’t have much activity. I also like the Marketplace I get through square and the electronic tracking is great.

    • Thanks for the info about Square invoicing, Cindi! I use Square at events and been very pleased, but didn’t know about the email options either. Keep me posted on how your FB marketing is going. I’d love to hear!


Leave a Reply

