Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Nebula November 20, 2014

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 10:10 am
Tags: , , , ,

Earrings Everyday has a monthly earring challenge that I occasionally participate in…

love that it’s a quick turn around time, so if I decide to jump in on a particular month,

then I need to follow through quickly.

This month’s inspiration was just too cool and out there for me to pass up…

a student short film from Gobelins, l’ecole de l’Image,in Paris.

This 3 plus minute wonder struck the creative nerve of Erin Prais-Hintz who took charge of

November’s We’re All Ears Challenge.

Kudos, Erin, for sharing this with us. Loved it!

I was struck by the gorgeous imagery of mist and water…

the transformational power of the water in that other-worldly creature.

My earrings are made from 18 gauge sterling silver wire,

formed into beautiful swirls…dripping with opalite droplets.

nebula 1

Nebula 2

And just to show how lovely these are on…

(Thank you, dear Tay, for being my model for this shot )

Opalite Swirls 2

   A side note: I looked up the meaning of the film’s title, Nebula…I kind of had an idea, but not really.

A nebula (from Latin: “cloud”; pl. nebulae or nebulæ, with ligature, or nebulas) is an interstellar cloud of dust, hydrogen, helium and other ionized gases. Originally, nebula was a name for any diffuse astronomical object, including galaxies beyond the Milky Way.

So, I went back and watched this little wonder again with a new appreciation…

 

33 Responses to “Nebula”

  1. Janet Says:

    These are so beautiful! I like all the swirls in them including on the ear wire. Very nice.

  2. Michelle Says:

    Oh these are just gorgeous and definitely capture the feeling of the short film!! Beautifully done Lynda!

  3. Alice Says:

    Gorgeous earrings! I really love those drops.

  4. glora Says:

    Love the swirls of your pretty earrings

  5. Those swirls and drops are so perfectly water inspired. It was such an unexpected moment when the creature drank the water and started to light up. The transformative power of water as life! Thank you so much for bringing this inspiration to life, Miss Lynda! I hope you will join me on December 5th for the next We’re All Ears inspiration! Enjoy the day. Erin

  6. Terri G. Says:

    Looks like we both were motivated to look up the definition of Nebula…Love love your earrings. I liked the water element too. You did a fantastic job of interpreting it into the earrings!

  7. Yes, love the way you have made the interpretation, little droplets from a swirling cloud, perfect xx

  8. Oksana Says:

    Your earrings are divine! Love the blue drops!

  9. debra freeland Says:

    These are so fabulous and I hope whoever wears them says a little prayer for water here in Cali.

  10. Like the water in the video, your earrings have their own transformative power. The opalite drops were a perfect choice, and your photos really show their glowing beauty. The swirl shapes really capture the tendrils of mist, clouds, and unfolding wings. I love the way they look on your model. Beautiful earrings!!

    • I totally agree about the opalite droplets. Couldn’t have found a better option for my design. Thanks for stopping by today and I’ll pass along the compliment to
      my fourteen year old granddaughter, Taylor.

  11. A stunning interpretation of the theme. Absolutely perfect!

  12. Tammy Adams Says:

    Beautifully done. Very graceful and feminine design.

  13. Tina Says:

    Love the earrings. And I didn’t know about Earrings Everyday. Such a fun site. Thanks!

  14. niky Says:

    I LOVE what you came up with, the opalite droplets and silver swirls are just beautiful and so magical!

  15. Cindy Pack Says:

    Beautiful design! I love the whimsical look of the wire and the blue beads are perfect! Lovely!

  16. Kristi Says:

    Really beautiful, the spraling wire and those amazing beads dangling on the end are really fantastic!!

  17. Gorgeous! As usual, I’m so impressed with your metal work.


Leave a Reply

