Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Trailing Roses February 20, 2015

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 12:31 am
Tags: , , , ,

This month marks the first anniversary of one of the best monthly jewelry challenges around…WE’RE ALL EARS over at the Earrings Everyday blog.  I’ve missed out the last few months, but am excited to join in today and help celebrate their first year of earring joy. Love that the sponsors come up with such unique inspirations each month…textiles, photos, paintings, architecture… And for busy people, each monthly challenge has a quick turn around time.  The inspiration is posted the first Friday of the month and the blog hop is the third Friday.  And who doesn’t l-o-v-e earrings!

This month is no exception. Lim Zhi Wei combines her lovely paintings with real flowers, especially roses, to create something special. View more of her work here.

You could say that people are waiting impatiently for Spring to arrive!

Lim-Zhi-Wei-LoveLimzy-17

 

 

LimzyFlowergirlsCollage7

 

 

I decided to create a couple of pairs of Trailing Roses earrings using 24 gauge annealed steel wire and tiny glass pearls in pink and white.

The wire, when cleaned with steel wool, was an antique silver-gray that I thought went well with the pearls. It is also stiff enough to add needed structure to the earrings while maintaining a delicate look.

Finished with oxidized sterling ear wires.

white roses

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pink roses

 

When you want to give yourself a little treat, hop over to see what other jewelry artists were inspired to create from this lovely inspiration piece.

At Earrings Everyday.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

23 Responses to “Trailing Roses”

  1. Alice Says:

    Beautiful! I love the elegant design.

  2. Terri G. Says:

    Very pretty! Fresh and inventive! Super cool designs!

  3. Mona Arnott Says:

    Hi Linda

    I love your interpretation of the flowers theme. The trailing roses are perfect.

    Mona

  4. Michelle Says:

    These are so beautiful and just perfect for this challenge Lynda! I truly love the design of both pair of earrings and of course you know that anything with a pearl of any kind is always perfect in my book! 🙂

  5. oksana Says:

    So creative! I’ve never seen anything like this before! Great job with the challenge.

  6. Tammy Adams Says:

    Stunning work with wire and beads. I can see them working well as delicate floral pendants too. Lovely earrings.

  7. Monique U Says:

    Such a pretty way to add steel to pearls 🙂

  8. I love your pearl earrings. The steel looks great with them!

  9. Judy C Says:

    What a great job! I just love them. Well done. Glad you are back.

  10. That is a truly modern classic design, Miss Lynda! I love what you did with just a few simple materials. So striking! Thank you for joining in the We’re All Ears challenge! (P.S. I still haven’t seen an email from you with your contact info for the prize that you won on the post. If you sent it, I didn’t receive it. Can you send me that info again so I can make sure that you get your prize? Thanks!) Enjoy the day. Erin

    • Hello, Erin…I sent an email the other day, but forgot to include my address…so sent another one this afternoon. Please let me know if you received it?
      Thanks for you always amazing inspirations each month. It’s a joy to participate!

  11. These are gorgeous, Lynda! I’m really impressed with your wire working skills. I’m glad that you are back to participating in We’re All Ears… I always love to see your creations.

  12. I love these drops! What a creative interpretation!


Leave a Reply

