Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Fire Power April 9, 2015

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 12:09 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Spoiler alert! This is a rather long post…but please stay tuned for the surprise ending!

First up. A milestone reached…  I’ve finally graduated from bezel setting stones in a classroom environment to my own home. This required the purchase of  a couple of helpful tools…a bezel rocker( also known as a bezel pusher) and a burnisher. Both inexpensive, but necessary for this work.  And both were available at a downtown jewelry supply store…San Diego has a historic eight story jewelry building with a couple of supply stores open to the public, watch repair, showrooms of diamond and pearls suppliers, wax casting services…so fun exploring each floor. Very sparkly.

tools

This latest piece went together pretty easily. So excited for find an inexpensive strand of turquoise chunks at a local bead store that went perfectly with this pendant stone.

I was able to solder the three bails quickly with my new Sterno torch.

turquoise necklace2

turquoise necklace 3

And here’s a little side story…I purchased a Sterno Candlelamp culinary torch about a year ago because I wanted something with a little more fire power for copper and larger pieces of metal. It worked great…loved its ease. Then one day it wouldn’t light. After searching the web for troubleshooting ideas, I contacted Sterno directly and  was nicely referred to their company communications manager and executive  chef Thad Smith. What a wonderful experience…not only did he offer to replace my torch, but when he found out I have a jewelry blog, Thad sent two additional torches for me to give away! Wow!

                                                                     Double Wow!

50114-132x132                           50114-132x132

So, blogger friends, here’s the fun for you…I’m giving away two Sterno torches. A few things to consider before you throw your name into the hat…

And I am holding off until Monday, April 13, for the giveaway, so folks have time to do a little research and thinking about it. May or may not be what would fit your needs and desires in a torch. Sadly, due to unruly foreign postage, I am sorry to limit this to U.S. readers.

First this giveaway is just the torch. You will need to purchase a canister of Sterno butane that fits the torch. I’m not brave enough to send this through the mail. There happens to be a Costco in my city that caters to restaurants and cooking needs…amazing, I know…so I was able to purchase a 4 pack. Cheap. This will last me a loooong time. Also saw that it was available at my local Sam’s Club…4 pack for under six dollars.

fuel

You might also wish to watch this little video with Thad Smith demoing the torch.

Remember the giveaway of the torches will start with on a new post on Monday. I’ll leave it open for one week and then draw two names on Tuesday, April 21st, so be sure you leave an email contact with your comment. Let me know if you have any questions and I’ll try to answer as best I can.

   Thanks again to Thad Smith and the Sterno company

for this wonderful opportunity to share with you all!

                                                                                       Lynda

 

26 Responses to “Fire Power”

  1. Jerri Maulik Says:

    This is so cool. I have never seen one of these torches. I would love one. Oh what pretties you could make!!

  2. Michelle Says:

    Oh wow Lynda – your necklace is just stunning!! Next to pearls – Turquoise is one of my all time favs!! Love your torch and that fact that Thad w/Sterno gave you a couple to give away is just awesome. I enjoyed the video. I’m going to have to look into these Sterno torches, my little micro-torch doesn’t seem to give me enough heat for my simple h bangles I like making and I miss making them because of this. Good luck w/the drawing. 🙂 (throwing my hat in the ‘torch ring’)

  3. Mary B. Says:

    Just watched the video and was very impressed! I have been using a micro-torch but sometimes have trouble with it not getting enough heat. I think the Sterno torch would help out tremendously.

    I also have been following your work and you have some wonderful pieces. I look forward to getting your emails for your next project(s) you have completed. It gives me so much inspiration! You are so lucky to live in such a beautiful city and have that nice jewelry building to get supplies. I used to live in Wisconsin between Milwaukee, WI and Chicago, IL. There were so many places to get all kinds of jewelry supplies plus I visited the Bead & Button Show in Milwaukee every year. We now live in Tennessee (2 yrs +) and I haven’t been able to find one jewelry supply store yet. Been ordering online when I run out of something.

    Continue doing your jewelry work…it is great! Thank you for this drawing.

  4. Barb Lessen Says:

    Absolutely love your turquoise necklace. Beautiful job. Just starting into metal with my polymer clay and would love a torch!!

  5. nikkbo Says:

    Lynda, please include me in your drawing. I actually have a culinary torch on my wish list at Amazon. I love your site!
    Nicole
    fouasnon.green@gmail.com

    • This torch might just what you need to move your jewelry skills to anew level. Please do come back on Monday to post a comment on the giveaway posting…an extra step I know…should have thought this one through a bit more. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Sarajo Wentling Says:

    Another gorgeous creation! You’ve been inspiring me with all of your lovely work, Lynda. I’ll be in San Diego in June… I’d love to know where that jewelry building is and any other beady destinations I shouldn’t miss. 🙂

  7. nikkbo Says:

    Please enter me for the drawing. This is my second request. I entered too early before, so I am doing it again to be on the safe side.
    Nicole

  8. Lois Dimitre Says:

    Like a moth to a flame, I’m drawn to fire 🙂 Would LOVE to experience working with a torch and learning the techniques needed to create works of art like yours.
    Let the flames begin!!!!!!
    Lois D

  9. I have been reluctant to try anything torch -related out of fear of burning my house down but the video makes it look very safe and doable! Fingers crossed- thanks for this giveaway offer and all you share on your blog.

  10. Nancy Taylor Says:

    So it is 4.13.2015 and so happy to be part of your blog world now. On Lima Beads I have followed your work and you have commented on mine,

    This Turquoise piece is amazing. But, your work is always impressive. The earrings you make are amazing. Your post Last Efforts inspired me to pound out silver earring bars to dangle beads from and make ear wires. I wear posts most of the time but when I see your work I take a chance of dangles.

    I hope you plan on adding matching earrings?

  11. Becky Huebner Says:

    Thanks so much for the video clip! I totally needed to see that! I have a big whopper torch my husband had in the garage but it scares the crap out of me so I’m for sure going to look into one of these. Your bezels are amazing and I love the turquoise necklace!!

  12. How great is this. Oh I would love to participate in this giveaway for the Sterno torch giveaway. Thanks for the opportunity. Fingers crossed. 😉

  13. Leigh Gruber Says:

    Hi Lynda,
    Yours is the only blog I have subscribed to. I enjoy your posts and look forward to them. Both of my daughters live in southern CA, and I’ve shopped at several bead stores out there, so it’s fun to learn about whats going on out there.

    Would you please put my name in the pot for the torch head. I have an acetylene torch, but haven’t used it in years because the basement is too full of “stuff” and it’s a bit scary to me. I do most of my work in the kitchen and since the chefs use this one, maybe my husband won’t object too much if I win!?
    Thanks for ALL your sharing!
    Leigh

  14. Carol Ivey Says:

    I too am fascinated with the possibilities of using this torch – certainly would expand my horizons. Wonderful give away – count me in.
    Thanks
    Carol


Leave a Reply

