Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Box of Beady Fun ! July 25, 2015

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 3:02 pm

Do you see fringe and tassels everywhere?

Seems to be very popular on jewelry, scarves, purses, jackets, vests, sweaters…

Must be the BOHO influence.

I saw this video tutorial by the folks at Fizzy Pops on Pinterest the other day and wanted to give it a try. I’m always looking for fun jewelry ideas for our Women’s Retreat and high school girls’ get-togethers. This one looked doable and fun! Their supplies called for colored wooden beads and the tassel necklaces are adorable and colorful. As I was looking for wooden bead options at Michaels, I came across this box of beads by Bead Landing…could be plastic, maybe acrylic…but with the shiny faceted finish, they looked perfect for this project. Such great colors for some summer fun! And with a 50% off coupon, 1116 beads cost me only $7.50.  I then walked the box of pretties over to the DMC embroidery floss display and picked out some colors that I thought would make great tassels.

For the first one, I decided to make a simple color block style with the orchid and dark blue beads, using a pale orchid cotton cording that I already had, tied up with a double knotted bow. May rethink that finish and try something else, but I think it fits this fun, and flirty style necklace. May try some thin leather cording?

This necklace has 74 beads total…so each box has the potential for 15 necklaces…that’s 50 cents in beads per necklace! A skein of floss was about 40 cents. Wow !  Cheap and cute!

beaded fringe

Just looking into this bead box, I see so many pretty color combos…may try mint and turquoise next. Or salmon pink and green. Or black and yellow.

What do you see when you look inside?  Any suggestions?

box of beads

Sure, it’s a huge departure from my usual makings,

but occasional detours are what make this journey fun!

 

3 Responses to “Box of Beady Fun !”

  1. I was wondering a bit what you were up to, when I saw this over at Lima (too bad connection then to try to comment), but that line about Women’s Retreat explained it… and anyhow, before reading this, I had already summed it up in the exact thought you express in that last sentence! 🙂
    I’m the one who should be silent, the amount of detours I manage to do in a year!! It’s good to widen your horizons and get ideas from unexpected places: in time you can combine your experience into something new and unexpected!
    And it looks great to boot, that wooden bead lifts it a bit over the ordinary!

    • Hi, Monica! Yes, I’m always on the look out for great jewelry ideas that our women would enjoy creating. Mostly, just a good excuse to sit together, talk, and laugh a lot! We’ve made earrings, bracelets, resin pendants for necklaces. I think this colorful tasseled necklace might just the ticket for our next get together.

  2. Sounds like great fun! I actually remember your resin pendants. My mum and sister, who live in the same small village, go to a “knitting cafe” once a month, arranged by the Village Committee I think. Also an excuse for talking and laughing a lot, I’ve understood! And exchanging ideas.


Leave a Reply

