Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Bracelet Bonanza September 4, 2015

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 4:11 pm

I cannot believe it’s been almost a month since my last post. I really do love to write and post about what I’m working on or new things I’m trying out…honestly, this means I  haven’t been doing much lately in the jewelry department. And we’re leaving on Monday for a big reunion trip. Then, it’s October, and yikes…two big holiday markets to prepare for. I’ve really been goofing off this summer. I might just regret that come October.

Here’s a few things I made this week. Eight beaded leather bracelets. These are very popular at the markets, so I’ve got a little inventory prepared. Four are made with the Krobo beads from Ghana that I adore. And four with a big variety of glass beads from India. Working my way through a giant box of them. Had a bit o’fun putting the groupings of colors together.

4 bracelets

glass bead bracelets

This last one is something I saw on the internet…I love wearing a bunch of smallish bracelets that are mix and match. This one fits right in with my growing collect. And it’s another use for my huge bin of seed beads. I’m thinking I’d like to make about a dozen more and wear them all together!!  These also look great mixed with chunkier styles like the ones above.

It’s so easy that I’m thinking this would be a great project for our Women’s Retreat in April. They love making jewelry.

pink floss bracelet

It uses only about 12 inches of embroidery floss, a jump ring, a lobster clasp,

The little brass star charm is optional, but adorable. Those fine collapsible needles came in very handy to thread these seed beads onto the embroidery floss.

The last photo shows it laid out…I’m not sure you can see it clearly, but I used my version of a random pattern.

5 pink beads, 1 gold, 3 pink, 1 gold, 1 pink, 1 gold…repeat.  It’s a pattern really that turns out looking very random.

I’ve used this very same “random” pattern successfully in other bracelets and necklaces.

Pretty sure it would work with other groupings of beads, if you keep them in odd numbers.

floss bracelet pattern

Here’s to minor progress and sweet wrist candy!

 

10 Responses to “Bracelet Bonanza”

  1. Kathy Zee Says:

    May I ask what you sell those for? They are super cute.

    • Glad you like them, Kathy! The ones with the Krobo beads are $24. 100% the profit goes to purchase school supplies and books for the school we visit in Ghana.
      The mixed glass ones are $20. Let me know if you are interested and I’ll give you a few more details about a purchase through Paypal.

  2. sparrott1@cox.net Says:

    So cute. Did you sign up to either of or Jewely class? We never got together over the summer. They were too busy with kids. Hope I see you soon. Would love to learn what knots you use on the bracelets Sandy😀

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Those African beads are amazing! You are lucky to get them. Wishing you lots of inspiration and energy for your upcoming markets! I’ve been quite unproductive myself too, lately…

  4. These are really nice!! Love the colors and chunkiness of the top ones especially. The seed bead one is just too cute – like you said!!


Leave a Reply

