Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Ho Hum… September 24, 2015

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 1:09 pm

Two weeks until the first of two Holiday Markets that I’ve committed to this year.

The days are ticking away and I’ve yet to get started.

This quote has been seen in many blog posts and it’s time I took it to heart.

“The advice I like to give young artists, or really anybody who’ll listen to me, is not to wait around for inspiration. Inspiration is for amateurs; the rest of us just show up & get to work. If you wait around for the clouds to part & a bolt of lightning to strike you in the brain, you are not going to make an awful lot of work. All the best ideas come out of the process; they come out of the work itself.

Things occur to you.”
~ Chuck Close

So today I showed up in my jewelry studio.

Since I don’t know where to start in creating new stuff,

I decided to get out all the inventory I have and look at it with a keen, critical eye.

And yes, it’s hard when they are your babies, but it’s necessary once in awhile.

The ones that didn’t pass muster went into a “makeover’ bowl.

Fate to be determined later.

All the others got a good look at pricing and cleaning.

I also ran across a few gold-bronze colored ring blanks

I ordered on a lark from Nunn Designs.

I make tons of wired wrapped rings,

and thought these solid blanks could be cool to try.

Here’s a link.

I’d even set aside a few beads at one time to embellish these with…

I had ideas.

So here’s what I created today. Pretty pleased with the results.

gold rings

I was able to punch a hole in the blank to wire wrap the Czech glass bead on.

gold stick rings

No lightning bolts yet.

But maybe the clouds in my brain have parted a tiny bit.

 

8 Responses to “Ho Hum…”

  1. Becky Nunn Says:

    Those look really great! Thank you for the mention!

  2. Judy Stallings Says:

    Very pretty! Good job!

  3. Oh wow, that was new from you! So cool! I especially like the first two, they have just the right balance between ring, stone and wire.
    I tend to get lots of ideas, but then when I sit down and try to pull all the components and findings together, something is missing, or doesn’t work like I’d planned, and then I just go — bleh… There are two ways out: get more ideas, or get stuck in and fix the problem! But you know as well as I, that when you come up with a winning design, you could just vary and work on that, nearly endlessly, and I should probably do that a bit more than I do now, to get an inventory that I could clean… 🙂
    I wish you perseverance and ideas!

  4. Sarajo Wentling Says:

    Some days just showing up is the hardest part, isn’t it? Now that my big show is over I know I need to really take a look at some of my older designs that have just been sitting and take them apart. I’ve been avoiding doing just that… thanks for helping me realize that it’s past time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

