Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Pretty Palettes Challenge October 8, 2015

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 10:12 am

I received a very special invitation earlier this week. From a very creative soul, Erin Prais-Hintz. The owner of Tesori Trovati. She creates and hosts a monthly challenge for Halcraft Company…who make all those lovely Bead Gallery beads and components that many of us drool over at Michael’s, affectionately known as the Wall O’ Beads.  Erin must have creativity oozing out of her pores, because she writes poetry in 30 words, paints, is a master with polymer clay, designs amazing jewelry, and a self-described color addict. Her invite was to partner with her for this month’s Pretty Palettes color challenge.  Visit the Halcraft web site to see past challenges…you’ll be delighted you did! Once you are on their homepage, just type Pretty Palettes into the search box to view past challenges and read more about her thoughts behind this month’s inspiration.

The inspiration is a photo that Erin selects and a color palette she ‘pulls’ from the image.

This is October’s color palette. Perfect for Fall!

I love the unusual combination of the gray tones with the traditional red and golden browns.

Although it’s still going to be in the 90’s here the next few days, I’m going to pretend I’m in Wisconsin, enjoying some cool, crisp days and turning leaves.  We had a lovely visit to that region in October a few years back.

AutumnHues

She then has the enviable task of selecting strands from the Bead Gallery to use in jewelry designs. Didn’t Erin do an incredible job!

And I’m sticking close to my mailbox, as I’m expecting a package of these goodies very soon!

octbeads-1-copy-919x1024

Erin and I will post a reveal on October 28th… So do come back and see what we’ve done. And you, too, are invited to play along. Head to your local Michael’s and grab some or all of these beads and design you’re own jewelry…anything at all. You may add additional things from your stash, if you wish.

If you have a blog, write up a little post and link it (with Linkz) to the October 28th post Erin will do on the Halcraft site. Then we can all enjoy!

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite photos from that Wisconsin trip.

From a hike at Devil’s Lake…

Devil's Lake hike

                    P.S. I just received the package in the mail this afternoon.

                                         The beads are even prettier in person.

                                                                   …and I get to play with them!

 

4 Responses to “Pretty Palettes Challenge”

  1. Wow! How cool is that!!! And those beads are absolutely scrumptious I’d love to do something with them.
    You can have some of the frost we’ve had this week — I realized I still have my potatoes and dahlia tubers in the ground, and it’s frozen at least a couple of inches down. The potatoes will be okay, next week is to be warmer, so I can get them out of their growing sack, but not sure how much the dahlias can take. We’ve had 21 degrees F for several long nights — it isn’t that unusual, but the change was a bit sudden…

    • Yes, I feel very lucky to be asked to participate this month by Erin. There is a gorgeous selection to play with…Oh, my! Envious of your true fall weather, although those are some very cold nights you’re having. Bundle up!

  2. Sarajo Wentling Says:

    Congrats on being picked to play along with Erin this month… I look forward to seeing what you create! (And I’m so happy to seem more frequent posts from you.)


Leave a Reply

