Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Does this sound familiar ?… November 5, 2015

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 2:30 pm

Do you ever love something you created so much that your knees are knocking just thinking about making something with it?  Does that make any sense ?

While I didn’t actually create the whole dragonfly focal…I did mess with it a bit…altered it. Kind of spur of the moment, too. In the same order from Lima Beads, I had a couple of dragonfly pendants and some gorgeous recycled glass drops (planned for some earrings). Well, upon closer inspection, I was very concerned that the tail of the dragonfly was too pointy and too thin to be of any use in a jewelry piece.

When what to my wandering eye should appear?…but a lovely turquoise glass drop that just might fit nicely over that spindly tail. I did need to nip off the ball tip first, but with some epoxy, it was a perfect solution. Honestly, couldn’t take my eyes off of it.

Then, it sat and sat and sat on my workbench. I knew it could make a knock-out necklace, but I was afraid I couldn’t live up to the challenge. Kept laying it next to different beads and brass chain to see what struck my imagination.  Today, I gave myself one of those swift kicks in the pants (mentally) and said, “Just do it, stupid!”  It’s not permanent. You can take it all apart. Get over yourself.

I also had this other idea of the focal being suspended from the wings, instead of close to the tiny head. So using punch pliers and a deep breath, I made holes at the wing tips.  Exhale…  I also used some 0000 steel wool to scrub off the dark brown patina to expose the brighter brass highlights in the design.

So here it is…And I like it!

dragonfly and leaves 2

Dragonfly and leaves

dragonfly and leaves 3

 

6 Responses to “Does this sound familiar ?…”

  1. Alice Says:

    Wow what a beautiful necklace I love all the elements.

  2. Mary Redman Says:

    This necklace is absolutely gorgeous! I love it when our creativity takes a chance and it all comes together beautifully!

  3. 🙂 Absolutely gorgeous 🙂


Leave a Reply

