Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Wrapping Up the Jasper June 4, 2016

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 8:46 am

     Today I’m showing off the necklace I finished up last week for my class at the Adult School.  This is the second free form bezel I’ve made that is perfect for those imperfect stones and rocks. I picked up this cool Jasper piece at a small craft fair in the park for a dollar.  Love that it has both a polished side and a matte gray side.  It was a bit rough. And there was a bit of a crevice on the front that I decided to disguise with a silver leaf…my first one…which I soldered onto one of the wire stems.  I ground down the wire on the backside so that it would lay flatter onto the stone. Pretty happy with the result.

     Finished off the piece with sterling wire links and more jasper stones.  The clasps and sweet square links were ‘gifted’ by a friend from a broken necklace. It’s a perfect touch for this necklace.

 

 

bezel with leaf 2

 

bezel with leaf 4

 

bezel with leaf 5

 

bezel with leaf

 

 

     School is on break for the summer.  My goal for the summer is to try traditional bezel setting at home with a couple of cabs. Lost wax casting will be the class focus this fall.  Something new to try for sure!

 

     Any goals for for your jewelry making summer?  Do tell.

 

8 Responses to “Wrapping Up the Jasper”

  1. sweetbeadstudio Says:

    Your necklace is beautiful! I love prong settings like this. I have similar goals – took one wax class this past year myself, and now I want to focus on bezel setting too.

    • Yeah for goals! I’m a bit intimidated by the whole lost wax casting thing…heard some tragic stories from friends. But also some amazing triumphs! Hope to hear how your journey is going.

  2. This is so very lovely!! I have made two of those “free form” bezel settings – easier said than done! Your leaf is the perfect accent! I wish I had classes available to me where I live — you are so lucky! I am limited to online classes (which I do love) and lots of You-Tube videos! However, there is something to be said about “life and in person teaching”! Would love to try lost cast someday….my wish list of techniques just keeps growing! Cannot wait to see your traditional bezel-set cabs!

    • Thank you, Patti! Absolutely lucky to have a good teacher and class close by! It’s like having a personal coach at your side.
      And thank goodness for youtube and online class, too! I’ll try to post photos of my “at home” bezel work as I get going.

  3. Really beautiful stone and beautiful work on setting it!

  4. Christina Says:

    I liked that you took a $1.00 stone and made a great necklace. Brilliant. Creativity at its best! As for my plans for summer in my craft room (now that it is looking somewhat tidy) is to finish most of those started but never finished projects. I’ll let you know how that goes!

    • Morning, Christina! I appreciate your kind words…and yes, do please let me know how your summer project is coming along. Who knows what hidden treasures you’ll find while tidying up your workspace!


Leave a Reply

