Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Grateful… October 13, 2016

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 4:47 pm

I’ve written here that this summer has been a dry season…literally and figuratively for me.  We are in the middle of a multi-year drought in my part of the country. Scary as we head into another Santa Ana time of the year.

And I’ve barely made any jewelry since June…a couple of things, but not much…not nearly enough for a craft market or the holidays.  A dry season.  I am so happy to report that the juices are flowing again.  In fact, this week has been awesome in that department.  Here’s a look at some pieces…These first ones are a riff on an Anthropologie necklace that they no longer carry, but it fired up my imagination.  I think of them as my vertebrae collection.  So much movement and flexibility…just like I used to have 15 years ago.

 

beaded-chain-necklace

pink-ladder-2

double-bead-ladder

turq-howlite-ladder-2

stone-ladder-2

bead-ladder-necklace-2

Using up bits and pieces of chain

with a large rose quartz stone

chain-tassel-close-up

First of twelve chandelier crystals in a box…

I tinned this one. I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of these.

chandelier

Love this bracelet bar and it’s sentiment!

it-is-well-bracelet

Brass with fresh water pearls and chalcedony

brass-leaves-necklace-2

Brass with Czech glass leaves and bird nest

birds-and-leaves-necklace

Double strand of fresh water pearls and sterling silver

double-strand-pearls-2

I also made four pair of earrings with some new etched copper components…

But that’s for another time.

Happy and exhausted.

 

 

18 Responses to “Grateful…”

  1. Mary B Says:

    I love these necklaces. It’s good to see you back at it:-) I run into the same thing once in a while. We just had an Art Walk last week and I have a craft show coming up in November. I need a vacation when this one is over.

  2. Dianne Says:

    So created, lovely things you have made here. I hope your ‘dry spell’ isn’t from health issues.

    • Hello, Diane…Thanks for stopping by today. We had a lot going on this summer…some remodeling, vacation, and family and friends staying with us. I needed to pack up my jewelry space and turn it into a second guest room for a month. Good news is when I moved back into my space, it was all spic and span!

  3. Sue Goodloe Says:

    Glad u r in the mood to create again, enjoyed these pieces. I noticed your bracelet ” inserts” , “All is well with my soul”. That touches a special place in my ❤️. Could u tell me where u buy those? Would appreciate it so much.

    Sent from my iPad Sue

    >

  4. Margot Says:

    Wow, you’ve been busy AND productive. Great pieces! I took the week off from work and I’ve been cleaning and organizing closets! Fun times. Today, though, I started on the mess I call a jewelry room. I think my creative juices will once again flow when I’m not so overwhelmed with the chaos in there. You’ve inspired me! Thank you, I love reading your blog.

  5. Sara Says:

    Beautiful creations! I love those vertebrae necklaces. Very inspirational!

    You really seem to have a handle on what you’re doing and I’d like to ask you a question. I’m relatively new to jewelry making and find myself worrying about so many details that I get stuck, and make nothing. One thing I’m wondering is if you coat your non-sterling silver pieces with something to resist tarnishing? I have made a few things with base metals and it seems like after a few months of wear, the copper starts to show through. Is that something to worry about? Or is it “par for the course” and I shouldn’t worry about potential buyers being disappointed?

    Thank you so much for taking the time to read this!
    With a smile,
    Sara

    • Morning, Sara! Thinking of different colors, beads, and chain variations is what got me ‘unstuck’. And I’m happy to give you my view on tarnishing issues.
      1. In my experience all metals will tarnish…except for gold and fine silver…because they are a mix however small. The reaction with oxygen causes tarnish over time.
      So, yes, it is par for the course.
      2. To help delay this reaction, I recommend to all my customers to keep their pieces in an air tight container or ziplock baggie when not wearing them. When sold, I package my jewelry in a ziplock, then paper packaging. I also talk about using a polishing cloth…recommend a Sunshine cloth…or a light finger scrubbing with toothpaste to bring back the shine.
      3. The only metal I pretreat is the copper that I patina or etch. Either with Renaissance Wax or a few light coats of Matte Permalac. To seal the patina. On the rare occasions I use dark annealed steel wire, I treat that as well, because of the rust problem.
      Hope this helps!

  6. Normadelle V Whittle Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing. I always look forward to your posts with your unique images. I’m going through a rough patch right now, and your posts are an inspiration to me especially as I have not made any jewelry recently! thank you so much

    • Good morning! I have come to understand that this is the ebb and flow of creativity, but that may not help much when you are in the middle of it! Good news is it doesn’t last…hope you are on the tail end of yours and will get back into the flow very soon. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  7. Mary Says:

    Holy cow! Your juices are really flowing! My husband and I will be in a couple of craft shows before Christmas so we are busy, too. Your jewelry is always so creative and beautiful. It is always fun when you are in the mood to make jewelry and your creativity is in sync with your mood.

  8. Liz Edgar Says:

    These are all so awesome! I’m so glad you got your mojo back! Are you still going to the RSD library?

  9. Sarajo Wentling Says:

    Lots of great stuff here, Lynda! I’m so glad to see you back in the blogosphere… I miss hearing your voice out there! 🙂


Leave a Reply

