Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

A break in the rain… January 27, 2017

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 3:39 pm

Today I’m celebrating a break in the rain to take some photos and share a jewelry making supplier for very cool earring cards.  California has been blessed with more rain than the ground can soak up in places…enough for the years-long drought to be called off.  Hopefully, people will have developed wise water-saving habits in the past few years that will help conserve the bounty that fell from the sky.

Still playing with wired-up studs.  I know I promised a tutorial on these, and I will keep that promise soon.  I promise.

I find that 22 gauge wire is working best for these tiny studs and especially when wire wrapping smaller beads.

 

                    First up…I HEART you to INFINITY.

heart-studs

Playing with wrapping. It took me a bit to figure out how to spiral the wire and include the post.

wrapped-studs

Saw this flower design in Pinterest.  Really peaked my interest to see if I could figure out how to make them.

The ones on the right are made with 20 gauge wire and a larger diameter mandrel.

flower-studs

Last are double spiral wrapped blue crystals.  Sweet!

blue-studs

And on to some new earring cards.  I really like the ones I made for these small studs, but ran out of tags to embellish.  In a web search, up pops a company called 8Seasons.  They not only have tons of beading supplies, but tons of tags for gifts and earring cards.  I really like these plain ones that I can fancy up, but I fell in love with these lovely bird cards.  There were pages and pages of cute designs and shapes. They are very inexpensive and come in packs of 50.  Search “paper label tags” on their web site.

It is a company in China, so you’ll need to be patient for your goodies to arrive.  Customer service was great…I had a question and received a quick and thorough answer by email.

earring-card-stock

bird-earring-cards

Hope you are all cozy, warm, and dry!

 

 

6 Responses to “A break in the rain…”

  1. Those are such sweet little earrings!

  2. Layne Says:

    Great review and so happy to get a web site with such good recommendations. We also have been enjoying the sun shine here in Solana Beach. Scraping off the barnacles.

  3. These are all so perfect for just a little touch of something. Great job with them. Oh, and I do love the new cards. I’ve been thinking about changing my card/tag type too, and this is some inspiration for sure!!


Leave a Reply

