Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

An ode to the color of the year… March 25, 2017

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 3:07 pm

Here it is…March is almost over, and nary a peep from me about Pantone’s newest color of the year.

Greenery.

It’s not that I don’t like green.  I love it.  In my garden.  In my wallet.  On my plate.

Just not crazy about green jewelry.  Except maybe a little patina on copper or brass, here and there.

However, I am currently gaga over this green.  In my soup bowl.  Roasted Asparagus Soup!  That’s how I like my greens.  If you will indulge me for a wee bit, I’ll tell you just how much I love this soup.

 

Asparagus-Soup-150x150

I have eaten a bowl of it for lunch every day this week.  I start craving it around 10:00 in the morning and have to keep myself from having ‘lunch’ that early in the day. Some days it worked, some days it didn’t.  One day I had some at 10:00 and 2:00.  By the way, it’s extra delicious with  a grilled cheese sandwich.

I want to share my joy in this delicious soup. I want to give bowls of it to my friends and family as birthday gifts.  And Christmas gifts. Not sure they’d appreciate the idea as much as I do. I want to write a blog post about it so others will know its tasty merits.

I love it because it’s a snap to prepare…so you can have some right away.  Less than 30 minutes.  Have I made a just a teensy bit curious to try it?  I hope so.

How did you find this amazing soup, you ask?  I’m happy to share.  It was a recipe on Melissa d’Arabian’s Facebook page.  Every Tuesday, she has a 30 minute video about cooking up something yummy for dinner. You might know her from the Food Network.  She’s the chef from Ten Dollar Dinners and a former Food Network Star winner.  Anyway, this week she made Almost Raw Asparagus Soup, starting with a quick roasting of a bunch of asparagus.  The rest of the work was done in a blender.  Here’s her recipe.

Then, I’ll tell you the little changes I did for mine.

Almost Raw Asparagus Soup with Yogurt and Almonds

1 1/2 pounds asparagus
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 cups low-salt chicken broth
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 tablespoon fresh mint leaves, chopped
1 tablespoon lemon zest
1/4 cup Greek yogurt, for garnish
2 tablespoons sliced almonds, roughly chopped, for garnish

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Toss the asparagus and oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper on a baking sheet. Roast the asparagus until lightly roasted but still crunchy, about 5 minutes. Cool the asparagus slightly. Combine 1 cup water, the asparagus, broth and lemon juice in a blender and puree until very smooth, about 2 minutes. Transfer the soup to a medium heavy saucepan and heat the soup. Stir in the mint and lemon zest and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Divide the soup among bowls and garnish with the Greek yogurt and almonds.

You can see just how healthy and delicious this must taste just by reading the ingredients. After, I watched the video and read the recipe, I wanted to make this NOW.  I did have asparagus, chicken broth, lemon, and Greek yogurt.  Of course, no almonds, or mint.  So I improvised.   I love the flavor of roasted veggies, so I did roast the asparagus for 15 minutes until bit charred.  Instead of mint, I added basil leaves.  I also added some defrosted frozen peas for extra fresh green flavor. And I also added the Greek yogurt into the blender, instead of as a garnish.  And just because I can take it, a few dashes of hot sauce.

And that brings me to the last reason I love this soup…you can jazz it up or down anyway you choose.  Different herbs, seasonings, garnishes.

If I’ve encouraged you give it a try, let me know your favorite way to prepare it.  I’d love to know!

 

 

2 Responses to “An ode to the color of the year…”

  1. blossomhills01 Says:

    Sounds so good – I will definitely try it – thank you!


Leave a Reply

