Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Nothing like a deadline… March 29, 2017

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 5:08 pm

April is just around the corner.  And that means I need to prepare for a craft fair on April 8th.  One I haven’t been to before which always makes me a little nervous. My usual strategy is to visit the ones I might be interested in first, to scout out the venue, crowd, and fellow vendors.  I signed up for this one on the word from some vendors at a Christmas market in December.

It’s the Jamul Kiwanas’ Hot Rod and Chili Cook-off.  You can see why I might be a little skeptical about selling my jewelry.  No mention of a craft market, right?  And it’s way the heck out in a very rural area at a large Thousand Trails campground.  Does this sound like a good idea to you?  I just hope that there will be folks who will be delightedly surprised to find a fabulous artisan craft market at the event.

The rest is show and tell.  Got a lot done the last few days.  Mostly in brass and Czech glass beads in pretty spring colors.  And mostly long necklaces.

flower and leaf earringsbutterfly earringsbutterfly with leavesbird nest and birdiesbird nest and leaves 2key and flower charmsleaf chainsbead ladders 4multi colored bead ladderschandelier pendant

Tomorrow I’m concentrating on etching copper pieces.  Really bummed that Radio Shack is going out of business. They were two minutes away and my supplier of etching solution.  Glad I still have one bottle left.

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Nothing like a deadline…”

  1. C Ferguson aka Annie Says:

    These are all beautiful. I hope you do well at the fair. My personal favourites are the necklaces with the nests and the leaf connectors and the butterfly necklace.

    Radio Shack closed in Canada many years ago and were bought out by Bell and renamed “The Source”. The product line is not the same as what Radio Shack used to carry unfortunately.

    I am looking forward to seeing your etched copper pieces. Someday, I’ll have to try etching. 🙂

  2. Here’s hoping the fair goes well.
    Are all Radio Shacks closing? They are always waxing and waning because they only appeal to a very small market. I guess I better hit mine up because I’ve only got one bottle of the etching solution and it’s several years old. Hmm. Thanks for the heads up!!

    • Good question, Hope! I’m not sure if all are closing. I do know that my local store missed being closed in the first round, but sadly not the second round of closures.
      Good luck in your search!

  3. Sarajo Wentling Says:

    So many fun designs! You’ve been busy! I hope that your sale goes well. It’s good to hear from you again… I always look forward to your posts.

  4. Beautiful! I happened upon your blog. Glad I did. Love the color 🙂 Blessings


Leave a Reply

