Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Leather Lessons October 4, 2017

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 1:30 pm

Lesson one…working with leather is not going to be quick and easy.  I really didn’t think it would be, but I can always hope.  I’ve mangled a few embossing folders and scrap pieces of leather experimenting with how much pressure to use in the rolling mill.

Exhibit A

mangled

 

I do love the texture and it has stayed put.  Some have told me that this embossing technique would only work with untreated leather…that it would ‘bounce back’ after a few days.  I think I can still use parts of this piece for earrings.  I saved you from seeing the truly mangled embossing plate.  It went right in the trash.

 

Lesson two…Leather is totally fun to play with!  Being so cheap using these scraps, I’m not a nervous wreck to try out stuff or afraid of ruining it, because I no doubt will have more failures. And failures mean more lessons to learn.  Right?

This bracelet isn’t what I’d expected, but I love it.  The impression is too light…again learning to use the rolling mill. It was a thicker piece of leather and a ready-made bracelet for a $1.50.  Mr. Ray had a basket of them by the checkout counter.  May need to go get some more of these babies.  The metal hole punch worked pretty well. I just stretched the holes a bit with an awl to accommodate the leather cord.  Tied on this purchased bracelet bar and added some drops of hypo-cement for security.  Ready to wear.

            In fact, it’s a keeper!  On my wrist right now.

 

Exhibit B

it is well 2

it is well bracelet

 

P.S.  Love this phrase…It is well with my soul…  From an old, beloved hymn written by Horatio Spafford, who was intimately acquainted with tears and tragedy.

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Leather Lessons”

  1. Love watching your experiments! The bracelet is very nice! You could also try stamping on leather…I have seen some very pretty components made from stamped leather! Have fun!

    • Hi, Patti! Stamping is on my list of things to work on. I only have a few small designs. Tried it once and used too much force and cut too deep into the leather. I’m used to pounding metal!!!

  2. debra freeland Says:

    Really love the embossing on the light color. I bought a bag of leather pieces from michaels for cheap and have been having fun. Have not tried embossing yet. I think the thinner unfinished pieces would work better too. Instead of snaps I have punched 2 holes and used buttons and then 2 holes on the other end and threaded 1.5mm leather to make a loop for the button. Hope to see more creations.

  3. Thank you for this post… Lately I’ve been struggling to get “well with my soul”. So I viewed this as a kind of message of encouragement :-).

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Thank you for stopping by, Carol. You are not alone in your feelings…believe me. I do not know if you are a follower of Jesus, but this verse from Hebrews is also on my mind lately…”We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.” I hold tight to this.


Leave a Reply

