Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Deep End of the Pool March 24, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 6:10 pm

Yesterday was a big day for me,  jewelry business-wise.

I had two goals this year for my business and personal goals…

They were only in my mind, not even expressed out loud or written down anywhere.

 But yesterday was the day to get going and put it out there.

First, I sent several photo submissions to a couple of jewelry magazines.

 The issues are not going to be published until the fall

and there are other hoops to jump through before being selected for publication.

Fingers crossed…

Then, I just opened up an Etsy shop with five pair of earrings.

I know, five items??…what kind of leap is that???

 Today I did get a few more pieces listed.

This is the biggy. A leap into the deep end of the pool for me.

“Look, Ma! No arm floaties or life vest!”

More that a few requests for where to buy my stuff online lately

has encouraged me to step out in this new direction.

So…It’s bare bones. No banner, yet. No fanfare or parades.

Just some jewelry for sale.

One disappointment was the name. Fresh Baked Designs was already taken.

Bummer…So, my shop is FreshBakedJewelry.

Close enough, I hope.  Here’s the link.  http://www.etsy.com/shop/freshbakedjewelry

And if you’d ever feel the urge to pass this along, I’d be ever grateful to have a little free advertising.

Have to compete with the other million Etsy jewelry shops, ya know.

Toes crossed.

If you have experience selling on Etsy, I’d be grateful for any of your wisdom you could share.

I’m a bit overwhelmed by the prospect of this step.

And to encourage those of you willing to help me get the word out,

I’m dangling a pretty nice carrot in front of you…

giveaway copper

Yup! This gorgeous handcrafted copper and sterling pendant I made last week.

 Ready to hang on a chain or leather cord or incorporate into one of your own designs.

To put your name in to win this pendant just Blog about my new Etsy store,

Facebook, Twitter, or any other way you can think of to include the link and a plug.

Just let me know what you have done in your comment. I trust you.

By Friday, April 5th. I’ll randomly pick a name on Saturday, April 6th.

Please be sure I have a way to contact you.

    And thank you bunches and bunches.

 

27 Responses to “Deep End of the Pool”

  1. I am so happy for you. I have followed you for awhile and love your work. I especially enjoyed your leather creations. I think you will do very well on Etsy and I am glad you finally took the plunge. I will blog about you tomorrow on http://catsmeowco.blogspot.com.
    Julie

  2. April Says:

    Love the pendant and love even more that you’ve reached your two goals! Congratulations 🙂 My fingers and toes are crossed for much success!!

  3. Sharon Says:

    Even before I saw your message about posting your items – I had already put some of them on pinterest! Good luck – you make beautiful jewelry!!!

  4. Donna Turner Says:

    I’m proud of you! I have 2,000 twitter followers who will be seeing this link (well, some of them at least) And 662 facebook friends who will see it if they are looking. I’ll post multiple times on twitter, and once on facebook. Also, I favorited your shop. Do you have a pinterest account? Talk to me about how it connects with etsy. 🙂

  5. Oh Lynda – Congrats on the Etsy store – yippee!! I am so excited for you! I’m glad I get your blog posts delivered via email because I just saw this and cannot wait to ‘show you off’ to everyone (I don’t have a ton of blog followers, but they’re all really wonderful!) this week and the same goes for facebook and twitter too – I’ll let you know when I post and give you the links. I’m super excited that you’ve also submitted some designs to magazines, I just know you’ll get accepted – all of your work is stunning! Not sure if you realize what an inspiration you are to so many of us. I love your courage to try new things and tell us all ‘like it is’ with out reservation. This is such great news! Congrats again!!

    • This message from you means so much to me. Thanks, Michelle. I’m an avid admirer of your work, too. And I freely admit I looked closely at wonderful your Etsy store to try and understand all the pieces and parts. They make it sooo easy to open a shop…and then, Whoa! I’m trying to take it slowly. I may email you with a question or two. Very grateful for your support in getting the word out, too.

      • Email away my friend – no problem there! I’m long winded though, as you know,….but I’ll try to answer as short and directly to the point as possible! 😉
        And, here’s the link to my blog post for today – I’ve included links to your shop and even ‘stole’ pics from your new Etsy store with links to each of them so people could find you easiliy! Best wishes for a long, successful and fun journey with all of this!!
        http://misheldesigns.blogspot.com/2013/03/spring-break-and-blogging-friends.html
        Oh, and I’ve also posted a link via twitter and over on my MiShelDesigns.com Facebook page for you as well – hope you get some traffic from it!

      • Wow and wow! Appreciate your wonderful efforts to get this venture going, Shel. And you bet, I’ll be in touch with some questions.

  6. Monique U Says:

    I love to share new Etsy shops on my blog, Lynda. I will write something up in the next couple of days. (I just posted and it’s almost 1:00 am here!) I favorited some of your pieces. I am so pleased for you… you are an inspiration!

  7. Karin Says:

    Fingers crossed for your magazine submissions, and a click over to your Etsty store was a real treat. Love your designs…and so will everyone else!

    • Not sure which is more scary…not having any sales in the Etsy shop or getting a polite rejection letter from a magazine! In the end, that part of the excitement of trying out new things. The unknown! Seeing what happens. Thanks for your support in this, Karin!

  8. Eliza Huskey Says:

    I have been enjoying your blog for quite some time now and never was sure how to comment. I’m not tech savvy at all. I am so proud for your bold moves jumping into the deep end. Wishing you great success. I hope you’ll continue to keep us posted about your wonderful, inspiring jewelry journey. I am going to figure out a way to promote your etsy store. I can share it on my Facebook page. Looking forward to my emails from you, thanks for sharing.

  9. Eliza Huskey Says:

    I took a picture of your bio with a little introduction of you and the web address to your etsy sight and posted it on my personal Facebook page. I would very much like to have tagged you in it. Does Fresh Baked Designs have a Facebook page? My jewelry company has one and it’s been awesome for promoting. Please look me up on Facebook under pages “Fancy Girl Jewelry” I could use all the likes I can get as it opens up more avenues for me. Thank-you Lynda

    • Hi,again! Now that’s a creative way to pass this along. I don’t have a FB page for the business, but you’re the second person to ask, so maybe I should, huh?
      Thanks for the idea and I’ll be sure to check out your FB too.

  10. Pam Ehrke Says:

    Congrats!! You are an inspiration!! I enjoy getting your blog in my e-mail. Would you have let you name it Fresh Baked Jewelry Designs? (I met you at the library jewelry workshops when I was living over there part time, about a year ago.)

    • Hello, Pam. You’ll be happy to know that the library jewelry classes are still going strong under the leadership of Diane, the librarian. It’s a wonderful service she’s doing in the community.
      Honestly, didn’t try out Fresh Baked Jewelry Designs. It might have been worth a try! Thanks for the positive comment and following along on my jewelry adventures.

  11. Monique U Says:

    Hi again Lynda, I just wanted to let you know I wrote a little post about your good news:

    http://ahalfbakednotion.blogspot.com/2013/03/fresh-baked-jewelry-new-on-etsy.html

    Do let me know if I have inadvertently published any errors.

    Don’t be discouraged if things seem slow at first. Everyone tells me it takes time for things to get moving on Etsy, so stay positive and patient!

  12. Kashmira Says:

    What!!!! You didn’t have a shop before? I have been a quiet follower of your blog since god knows when, and i LOVE everything you make! SO glad you started the shop now…I went ahead and liked it and all. Will put up a post soon too! All the VERY VERY best!!!


Leave a comment