Fresh Baked Designs

Adventures in jewelry making

Close to My Heart March 30, 2013

Filed under: Archives — Fresh Baked Designs @ 10:31 am
Tags: , , , ,

Jewelry making is certainly a passion of mine.

But not the only one.

I’ve been a supporter and volunteer with Amor Ministries for a long time.

We’ve been on many house builds in some of the poorest neighborhoods of Tijuana

and once at the San Carlos Apache Reservation near Globe, Arizona.

This faith-based non-profit has been working to provide housing for the neediest families for over 25 years.

Next week, my husband and I will be part of a team of adults and youth that will build a house in four days

for the Cardenas Faria family, a husband, wife, and their four children.

The father works as a mason’s assistant and makes $83 a week.

They currently live in a one room house made out of used lumber,

bad roof, no electricity, no drinkable water, no propane…

Amor also has a Clean Water for Life program.

For $100,  the family can receive a water purification system that will provide them

with 1,000,000 gallons of clean water. That’s enough for their family for life!

 I created a line of jewelry a while back to support the purchase of this amazing gift to the families.

Pure Water Designs

PWE1

PWE2

PWE3

PWE4

PWN1a

I chose the small opalite briolette drops for these designs

because they look so much like perfectly pure water droplets.

And now, with my new easy shop, it’s available for purchase to a wider audience.

100 percent of the profit goes to this water purification program.

These pieces are currently available in my Etsy Shop.

If you’d like to buy a little jewelry and support this venture,

I will be meeting a family soon who would be very grateful for this gift of clean water.

Tomorrow, Christians around the world join together with joyous shouts…

He is risen!  He is risen, indeed!

Wishing you all a joyous Easter,

Lynda

 

4 Responses to “Close to My Heart”

  1. Fantastic. Great idea for the jewelry to support clean water. We have supported this project thru Samaritans purse before.

  2. Cindy Says:

    Lynda, I commend you and your husband for the meaningful ministry that you are doing. I will be thinking of you and the others this week as you help build the house for this family. Your earrings and necklace are beautiful, and they certainly do remind me of drops of water!


Leave a comment